Buckler Catch


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

...from the Inner Sea Primer; Taldan Rondelero fighter archetype.

Q: does the disarm attempt, albeit at +4, still provoke an AoO?

(i.e. is this best if one has the Improved Disarm feat?)

Sovereign Court

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

in the PRPG Core book, we have (emphasis mine)

Disarm
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a
melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat,
or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an
attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.
Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4
penalty on the attack.
If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it
is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with
two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by
10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both
hands (maximum two items if the target has more than
two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop
the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If
you successfully disarm your opponent without using a
weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.

Q: is the Buckler Catch considered a "similar ability" (i.e. does not provoke an AoO), especially considering the severe penalty for failure?


Great question. The fact that it adds a +4 really does make it feel like a "similar" ability since the feat removes a -4. Sometimes we get useful text like "this attempt provokes AoO as normal".

Sovereign Court

I think Buckler Catch gives you a net +4, not a (-4 + 4 = 0)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Buckler Catch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions