Ocean sub-domain Surge?


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok I am a tad confused by this one.

from the SRD:
Surge (Su): As a standard action, you can cause a mighty wave to appear that pushes or pulls a single creature. Make a combat maneuver check against the target, using your cleric level + your Wisdom modifier as your CMB. If successful, you may pull or push the creature as if using the bull rush or drag combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier

So what this does is allow me to bull rush as normal drawing the AOO and drag as normal, again with the AOO simply at a better than normal CMB?

Is that all?


The ability, while not specifically saying it, does not require a melee touch range.
the ability allows you to make a pull or push maneuver at range, unless the creature affected is close enough to make an AOO against you then you would not provoke.
Amusingly enough this skill lacks a range and line of effect clause, so if you so desired you could effect one creature on the other side of the planet if you knew where it was.
Needs some clarification I think, but I figure the intent was a Pull or Push CMB check at range, similar to the water jet spell and its ranged bull rush.


Movin wrote:

The ability, while not specifically saying it, does not require a melee touch range.

the ability allows you to make a pull or push maneuver at range, unless the creature affected is close enough to make an AOO against you then you would not provoke.
Amusingly enough this skill lacks a range and line of effect clause, so if you so desired you could effect one creature on the other side of the planet if you knew where it was.
Needs some clarification I think, but I figure the intent was a Pull or Push CMB check at range, similar to the water jet spell and its ranged bull rush.

That is one way of looking it the ability, and lord knows Gorzeh needs some help, but this looks a tad buff. Is there anything to support either interp?

Any monsters having similar abilities. Npc ocean priests in a module/Ap anything at all?


I can't recall anything off the top of my head, hopefully someone with a better mind comes across soon.
there is a precedent for spells or SLA's allowing ranged combat maneuvers though.
Nature sorcerer gets its trip vine,
Burning Disarm and Hydraulic push are both first level spells that make a combat maneuver at range.
Knock the range of the ability down to close range and it becomes far less silly. It would emulate an ability in the 1st level spell range.
Sounds like an error in the text, as in agreement with your first post I can say that it makes no sense as printed.


The default assumption is that you need line of sight (to be able to target) and line of effect (to be able to effect) to use any ability that doesn't specify otherwise. Since this doesn't say anything, I'd say that RAW, it lets you use it on any target you can see and have line of effect to, no matter how far away they are.

I'm pretty sure RAI is "within 30 feet" though, since that's the standard for cleric domain powers.


Bobson wrote:

The default assumption is that you need line of sight (to be able to target) and line of effect (to be able to effect) to use any ability that doesn't specify otherwise. Since this doesn't say anything, I'd say that RAW, it lets you use it on any target you can see and have line of effect to, no matter how far away they are.

I'm pretty sure RAI is "within 30 feet" though, since that's the standard for cleric domain powers.

That is the way I see it as well. i just found the 'Wind' subdomain power and if you limit ocean to 30' they come out about the same.

Wind is all targets in a 30' line bullrush only.

Ocean is 1 target w/in 30' bullrush or drag.

about the same, yes?

Shadow Lodge

That is the way I see it as well. i just found the 'Wind' subdomain power and if you limit ocean to 30' they come out about the same.

Wind is all targets in a 30' line bullrush only.

Ocean is 1 target w/in 30' bullrush or drag.

about the same, yes?

I didn't think about range, line of effect, or line of sight in regards to this power when I first chose it. I currently use it with my cleric in a home game, so I'll bring this up the next time we play.

As a GM as well, I would agree with your latest interpretation, Poor Wandering One. That makes sense if you implement the core assumption rules.

Shadow Lodge

Though it has been a while Poor Wandering One, my GM did agree with your interpretation of the rules. It just makes sense that way, which was the sentiment agreed to all around the table.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm casting raise dead on this thread to pose another facet to the question.

With the Wind and Ocean Subdomain powers, do you have to be the point of origin? I.E. Can you target a creature in front of you and send them to the left or right rather than strait out in front?


Pluveus wrote:

I'm casting raise dead on this thread to pose another facet to the question.

With the Wind and Ocean Subdomain powers, do you have to be the point of origin? I.E. Can you target a creature in front of you and send them to the left or right rather than strait out in front?

That is a good point. I suspect the caster is the point of origin. But there is no indication that it is. But I think one could make a similar case for the spell hydraulic push That also doesn't specify that you cannot curve the spell as to hit the target from a different angle..

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ocean sub-domain Surge? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.