Saving Shield question


Rules Questions


So the Saving Shield feat from APG states that you can grant an adjacant ally +2 shield bonus to ac as an immediation action, when said ally is attacked.

What it doesn't really clarify is how long this lasts.. Is it only for that 1 attack - meaning that the next time in the same round a boogyman hits the ally, does the +2 still affect her? If so, does the effect last as long as they stay adjacent to eachother?

If read literally it could mean that by the end of the fight, everyone could have gotten next to the character with the feat and enjoy the +2 bonus.. (other stacking rules permitting).

Grand Lodge

blaznee wrote:

So the Saving Shield feat from APG states that you can grant an adjacant ally +2 shield bonus to ac as an immediation action, when said ally is attacked.

What it doesn't really clarify is how long this lasts.. Is it only for that 1 attack - meaning that the next time in the same round a boogyman hits the ally, does the +2 still affect her? If so, does the effect last as long as they stay adjacent to eachother?

No... it's an immediate action which means it applies only to that one attack action or one full-attack action as applicable by the situation. The effect ends immediately after the attack action or full-attack action ends.


Yes, but reading the feat it could just as well mean she can only use the feat once pr. round..

But she uses the feat to grant the bonus, and reading it literally the affected character has the bonus from then on..

It's weird..

I would also deem it "only for that attack", but the wording of the feat makes it hard to argue :).

Time to summon GameMaster powers? :D

Grand Lodge

blaznee wrote:

Yes, but reading the feat it could just as well mean she can only use the feat once pr. round..

But she uses the feat to grant the bonus, and reading it literally the affected character has the bonus from then on..

It's weird..

I would also deem it "only for that attack", but the wording of the feat makes it hard to argue :).

Time to summon GameMaster powers? :D

Then you're not only reading the feat wrong,or you're selectively interpreting what "immediate action" means in this paragraph. Immediate action isn't the trigger for the ability, the entire ability happens AS an immediate action.


I will choose to agree and use that as my RuleHammer[TM] :)

Thanks for input :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Saving Shield question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions