Elixir of Fire Breath... what action type to use?


Rules Questions


Just like the title says. i know its' a standard action to drink the potion, but what action is it to spew the three fire attacks off?

Liberty's Edge

Eben TheQuiet wrote:
Just like the title says. i know its' a standard action to drink the potion, but what action is it to spew the three fire attacks off?

I would think a standard action. Is there a reason to consider a different action?

Grand Lodge

Three standard actions, one for each breath.


The description isn't explicit. We assumed standard as well, but without it being said, we wondered if we were just looking the wrong place.

So it's not spelled out, more just assumed?

Grand Lodge

Eben TheQuiet wrote:

The description isn't explicit. We assumed standard as well, but without it being said, we wondered if we were just looking the wrong place.

So it's not spelled out, more just assumed?

By the rules the default for ANY action, use of any magic item IS a standard action UNLESS specifically spelled out.


LazarX wrote:
By the rules the default for ANY action, use of any magic item IS a standard action UNLESS specifically spelled out.

This is the type of answer i was looking for... as it helps me learn to navigate the rules in general better. Thanks, LazarX.

Is this stated in the rules somewhere? or more of a understood principle?

Liberty's Edge

Eben TheQuiet wrote:
LazarX wrote:
By the rules the default for ANY action, use of any magic item IS a standard action UNLESS specifically spelled out.

This is the type of answer i was looking for... as it helps me learn to navigate the rules in general better. Thanks, LazarX.

Is this stated in the rules somewhere? or more of a understood principle?

The stated rule, in the magic item section is that the default action for ACTIVATING a magic item is standard. Potions (and presumably elixirs) are use activated; the elixir is activated by drinking it. The use of the item doesn't have a general rule that applies that I know of.

But..breath weapons are standard actions. They are supernatural abilities which default as standard actions. So, the application isn't exact as the elixir doesn't specifically grant a breath weapon. But, the effect is pretty much the same.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Elixir of Fire Breath... what action type to use? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions