Moving and / or attacking diagonally, plus other actions in combat


Rules Questions


hi i am part of a new group of lads who have recently started to do pathfinder, and we seem to start each session with lots of questions about the rules. the most common and persistent questions are about movement distances especially moving diagonally and whether we can attack diagonally or whether we would need reach weapons. Our DM insists diagonals are 10ft for movement and fighting purposes. there is also confusing about how many actions we can do in combat. DM says only do a movement or a standard action. a free action and a 5ft step can be done with either if we want. could anyone help clear up the confusing please? thanks.


The answers to all your questions can be found in the PRD, albeit scattered around, mostly in the Combat chapter. The first diagonal counts as 5 feet for the purposes of movement; the second is 10, and it continues to alternate. (This can be found under Tactical Movement in Movement, Position & Distance.) Because it's the first diagonal from you, you can attack into all squares surrounding your square, including diagonally, with a non-reach weapon. (This is detailed under Threatened Squares in Attacks of Opportunity.)

The Actions in Combat section details what you can do in a round: generally a standard action and move action (which may or may not include actual movement) or a full-round action. You can also perform one swift action and one or more free actions. You can always replace a move action with a standard action. You can take a 5 foot step in any round in which you don't actually move any distance. The table here is going to be your best friend. :)


For diagonals, only every other square counts as 10 feet. So, the first diagonal square is 5 feet, the second counts as 10, the third counts as 5, the fourth counts as 10, etc.

In every round of combat, characters do one of the following:

a)one full-round action, one swift action, and unlimited free actions.
or
b)one standard action, one move action, one swift action, and unlimited free actions
or
c)two move actions, one swift action, and unlimited free actions

A 5-foot step is a free action that can be taken (only once) in any round, but only if you don't move any other distance that round.

Liberty's Edge

Bitbone wrote:
hi i am part of a new group of lads who have recently started to do pathfinder, and we seem to start each session with lots of questions about the rules. the most common and persistent questions are about movement distances especially moving diagonally and whether we can attack diagonally or whether we would need reach weapons. Our DM insists diagonals are 10ft for movement and fighting purposes. there is also confusing about how many actions we can do in combat. DM says only do a movement or a standard action. a free action and a 5ft step can be done with either if we want. could anyone help clear up the confusing please? thanks.

Welcome to the game.

Diagonals count 5 feet for the first and 10 feet for the second. You can attack on the diagonal or move diagonal; it is 5 feet if adjacent to you. You cannot move diagonally if it is around a hard corner.

In each round of combat, other than a surprise round you can make several actions. You can take all of: a standard action, a move action, a five foot step, as many free actions as the GM will allow, and a swift action. You can substitute your standard and move actions for a full round action (2 for 1). You can substitute a move action for a standard action, giving two move actions and no standard action. You cannot take a five foot step if you have otherwise moved in the round.

There are a few details that others will point out that I've missed, but this covers the basics.


thanks everyone that certainly clears things up for me. i shall let the rest of my group know.

Sovereign Court

Note, attacking into the 2nd diagonal square with a reach weapon works differently than moving into that same square. It's not stated in the PF rules, but I believe it is an omission from 3.5e.

If a medium or small creature is wielding a long spear they can attack into all the squares 2 squares away (16 of them) but not the 8 adjacent squares.

Another trick to remember how far you can move diagonally is to convert your speed from feet to squares. So if you move 30 feet it's 6 squares. When moving diagonally its faster to count 1's and 2's than adding 5 feet, then 10 feet. At least it is in my head.

--Vrock the House


had another session last night and we got everything sorted thanks for the help.

Liberty's Edge

I'd like to point out that everyone here is correct. The reason for the alternation between 5 and 10 is because the diagonal is a little over 7 feet, so rounding up to 7.5 feet per diagonal is convenient.


Bitbone,
I am new as well and I will say that you and your DM should not hesitate to post questions here as all of mine have been answered very quickly and with MUCH satisfaction on my part. This forum is filled with very helpful participants. Welcome to the game, so far my group is having a great time playing and I hope you find the same level of fun for your group.


Joana wrote:

You can always replace a move action with a standard action.

I think you got it backwards, you can always replace a STANDARD action with a MOVE action. This gives you two move actions, but you may never have two standard actions in a single turn (without special feat/power).

Liberty's Edge

DGRM44 wrote:

Bitbone,

I am new as well and I will say that you and your DM should not hesitate to post questions here as all of mine have been answered very quickly and with MUCH satisfaction on my part. This forum is filled with very helpful participants. Welcome to the game, so far my group is having a great time playing and I hope you find the same level of fun for your group.

And from your reply above, looks like you're becoming one of those helpful people as well. :D


Thank you.


DGRM44 wrote:
Joana wrote:

You can always replace a move action with a standard action.

I think you got it backwards, you can always replace a STANDARD action with a MOVE action. This gives you two move actions, but you may never have two standard actions in a single turn (without special feat/power).

:P Ugh, can't believe I didn't catch that reversal. That's what I get for trying to collect all those rules fast before I got ninja'd.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Moving and / or attacking diagonally, plus other actions in combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions