A biting monk


Rules Questions


Hey folks! Can a monk with a bite attack make that attack along with his flurry? It is a natural attack, but I'm not sure - is it at full attack mod for all attacks, at -5, or not at all? My big-mouthed monk needs to know!

As an aside - the bite attack is gained from the spell "face of the devourer", although a half-orc could do it with the right trait or feat.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/f/face-of-the-devourer


beholderbob wrote:
Hey folks! Can a monk with a bite attack make that attack along with his flurry? It is a natural attack, but I'm not sure - is it at full attack mod for all attacks, at -5, or not at all? My big-mouthed monk needs to know!

No -- under the description of Flurry, it specifies that you can't use it in combination with natural attacks.

To wit: "A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks."


hogarth wrote:
beholderbob wrote:
Hey folks! Can a monk with a bite attack make that attack along with his flurry? It is a natural attack, but I'm not sure - is it at full attack mod for all attacks, at -5, or not at all? My big-mouthed monk needs to know!

No -- under the description of Flurry, it specifies that you can't use it in combination with natural attacks.

To wit: "A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks."

Ach! Would this be altered with the feat multi-attack? Also, the spell specifies that you can add the bite as a secondary attack at -4 to hit. The monk rule explicitly forbids this, or does the spell override the limitation?


beholderbob wrote:
hogarth wrote:
beholderbob wrote:
Hey folks! Can a monk with a bite attack make that attack along with his flurry? It is a natural attack, but I'm not sure - is it at full attack mod for all attacks, at -5, or not at all? My big-mouthed monk needs to know!

No -- under the description of Flurry, it specifies that you can't use it in combination with natural attacks.

To wit: "A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks."

Ach! Would this be altered with the feat multi-attack? Also, the spell specifies that you can add the bite as a secondary attack at -4 to hit. The monk rule explicitly forbids this, or does the spell override the limitation?

You're spell is essentially useless, unless you move and cannot take a full attack (and thus cannot flurry) then with your standard action, you could bite.

For flavor, you could "bite" as one, or all of your flurry attacks, but mechanically, you would have to use your monk damage and attacks etc.
but as part of a flurry you could use whatever part of your body, since the spell allows you to do lethal with your mouth, it would become a part of the body you could attack with, but not for an additional attack or increased damage.

I assume eventually your monk damage would be higher than that spell damage anyway.

The spell would also help you in grapple or pinned situations where you can still bite (like the barbarian rage power animal fury)


Pendagast wrote:


You're spell is essentially useless, unless you move and cannot take a full attack (and thus cannot flurry) then with your standard action, you could bite.

For flavor, you could "bite" as one, or all of your flurry attacks, but mechanically, you would have to use your monk damage and attacks etc.
but as part of a flurry you could use whatever part of your body, since the spell allows you to do lethal with your mouth, it would become a part of the body you could attack with, but not for an additional attack or increased damage.

I assume eventually your monk damage would be higher than that spell damage anyway.

The spell would also help you in grapple or pinned situations where you can still bite (like the barbarian rage power animal fury)

Oh well, I like having the bite attack thematically (becoming rather icky/cthuluesque) and the blood-soaked mouth, but it is so un-munchkin that the use of the spell hurts the character. Darn.

(By hurt the character, I mean I'm using a resource to produce inferior effects to what I had prior to casting the spell. I gain a bonus to intimidate, but that is definitely not worth the casting. Also, I thought a monk could use his unarmed strike while grappled.)


Pendagast wrote:
Also, I thought a monk could use his unarmed strike while grappled.)

It can.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A biting monk All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.