Can a disabled character withdraw?


Rules Questions


I'm certain, if you read as written, that a disabled character (one at 0-hp) can withdraw - and then pass out and begin dying. Is this intended behavior, or should "Restricted Withdraw" be a move action instead of a standard action?

If this is intended behavior, what CAN a disabled character do to get away? 5-ft step one round and hope the opponent doesn't follow?

Scarab Sages

Disabled restricts you to one standard or move action each turn. Taking a standard action wounds you, causing you to enter the dying category.

Withdrawing from melee combat is a full-round action.

Restricted withdarw can be done as a standard action.

Since you can't perform full-round actions when disabled, you cannot take a normal withdraw action.

Considering that you're nearly dead, that makes sense. A disabled character can either use an action to increase their hitpoints, or take a move action to move away normally and hope that the aoo doesn't hit. Or they can drop to the ground and pretend to be unconscious.


Restricted Withdraw wrote:


If you are limited to taking only a standard action each round you can withdraw as a standard action. In this case, you may move up to your speed.
Disabled wrote:


A character with 0 hit points, or one who has negative hit points but has become stable and conscious, is disabled. A disabled character may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions, but he can still take swift, immediate, and free actions). He moves at half speed. Taking move actions doesn't risk further injury, but performing any standard action (or any other action the GM deems strenuous, including some free actions such as casting a Quicken Spell spell) deals 1 point of damage after the completion of the act. Unless the action increased the disabled character's hit points, he is now in negative hit points and dying.

A disabled character may withdraw, but they only get a single move to do it in, they move at half speed, and take 1 point of damage at the end of the move, which will probably mean they start dying... Which is probably better than the alternative if you need to withdraw. :P


Thank you both for the replies.

Magicdealer, that was the way I was reading it, but it's nice to have confirmation.

General Chaos, where did the "half speed" come from? It's not in the PRD, that I can see... at least, I can find one spot where being at 0 hp is described, but that verbage isn't used.

I guess the "real" question I have is more tactical than rules at this point: what's the "best" thing to do?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a disabled character withdraw? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions