Dragon Disciple: Dragon Bite. Magical or No?


Rules Questions


Is a Dragon Disciple's Dragon Bite considered a Magical Attack for the purposes of overcoming DR?

The draconic bloodline specifically calls out that the Claws become magical at 5th level. However, the Dragon Bite has no such clause.

I assume it to be the case that both the Bite and the Claws are magical, but I thought I'd ask the board.


No dragon disciple fans out there?


While fast responses are fairly common they aren't the rule either. A bit longer than 2 hours isn't very long to wait for a bump.

That said nothing states specifically that the dragon disciple's bite attack is magical. As such it isn't magical by itself.

There is a feat in the APG called eldritch claws that affects all natural attacks and makes them all magical and silver for the purposes of DR.


Since "Dragon Bite" specifies that you gain the bite when you use your bloodline to grow claws, I'd say it would have the same benefits as the claws.


Are wrote:

Since "Dragon Bite" specifies that you gain the bite when you use your bloodline to grow claws, I'd say it would have the same benefits as the claws.

Concur, but I figured I'd gauge the forum's general opinion. Seeing as how it's 66% to 33%, magical it is!

Scarab Sages

Are wrote:
Since "Dragon Bite" specifies that you gain the bite when you use your bloodline to grow claws, I'd say it would have the same benefits as the claws.

You must have missed the ability definition at the very beginning! It specifically says the bite is an extraordinary ability and therefore not magical:

PRD wrote:
Dragon Bite (Ex): At 2nd level, whenever the dragon disciple uses his bloodline to grow claws, he also gains a bite attack. This natural attack is made at the dragon disciple's full base attack bonus. The dragon disciple adds 1–1/2 times his Strength modifier on damage rolls made with his bite. Upon reaching 6th level, this bite also deals 1d6 points of energy damage. The type of damage dealt is determined by the dragon disciple's bloodline.


I think you missed what I'm trying to get at...

Claws (Su): Starting at 1st level, you can grow claws as a free action. These claws are treated as natural weapons, allowing you to make two claw attacks as a full attack action using your full base attack bonus. Each of these attacks deals 1d4 points of damage plus your Strength modifier (1d3 if you are Small). At 5th level, these claws are considered magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming DR.

Dragon Bite (Ex): At 2nd level,[character level 7] whenever the dragon disciple uses his bloodline to grow claws, he also gains a bite attack.

Since the claws are Su, I don't see how the bite can be Ex, but that is beside the point.


The bite is not magical, though that may be an oversight by the makers of the class. Since the Claws ability specifically only mentions claws, and the bite is something separate, then modifiers to the claws only refer to the claws.

In a home game, I think it'd be reasonable to ask a GM to homerule it otherwise.


Melissa Litwin wrote:
The bite is not magical, though that may be an oversight by the makers of the class. Since the Claws ability specifically only mentions claws, and the bite is something separate, then modifiers to the claws only refer to the claws.

We agree. Otherwise this question would be meaningless. However, do you think it was intended that they be linked?

Melissa Litwin wrote:
In a home game, I think it'd be reasonable to ask a GM to homerule it otherwise.

Quite.

Grand Lodge

Stynkk wrote:
Melissa Litwin wrote:
The bite is not magical, though that may be an oversight by the makers of the class. Since the Claws ability specifically only mentions claws, and the bite is something separate, then modifiers to the claws only refer to the claws.

We agree. Otherwise this question would be meaningless. However, do you think it was intended that they be linked?

Melissa Litwin wrote:
In a home game, I think it'd be reasonable to ask a GM to homerule it otherwise.
Quite.

This is a standard ability of true dragons (Bestiary p. 91), so I think the bite was meant to receive it as well as the claws.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dragon Disciple: Dragon Bite. Magical or No? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.