Cleric Use of 0 Level spells


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

ok - need some clarification on the use of 0 level spells by clerics. I know at level one they can know/use 3 spells however do they have unlimited use of those 0 level spells or how is it suppose to work?

Please let me know,

Arbarth
Old (new to pathfiner) School GM

Dark Archive

The way it works, by RAW, is that every time they prepare spells, they may choose a number of level-0 spells (three as a first level cleric). They may use those spells as often as they like (max. once per round).

In my gaming group, we've made a House Rule, saying that they (and all other casters) can use each level-0 spell 3+(casting stat modifier) times per day...so a Cleric with Wisdom 16 could use Stabilize 6/day, if she had prepared that spell.

Dark Archive

Arbarth wrote:

ok - need some clarification on the use of 0 level spells by clerics. I know at level one they can know/use 3 spells however do they have unlimited use of those 0 level spells or how is it suppose to work?

Please let me know,

Arbarth
Old (new to pathfiner) School GM

You can prepare 3 0 level spells and use them endlessly.

As you level up you can choose more to have on hand.


Arbarth wrote:
ok - need some clarification on the use of 0 level spells by clerics. I know at level one they can know/use 3 spells however do they have unlimited use of those 0 level spells or how is it suppose to work?

As others have said, once you prepare your 3 (or more depending on level) Level 0 spells, you may use those (and only those that you've prepared) an unlimited number of times per day.

I find this allows casters to have a good amount of flexibility as they'll always have some tricks at their disposal.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks - this (the above) was my thinking but could not find a CLEAR rule in the book stating it.

Thanks again,

Arbarth,
Old School GM


Ah, well, if you want the exact rule to point to: Look at the Cleric Class Page under the heading Orisons.

Orisons:
Clerics can prepare a number of orisons, or 0-level spells, each day, as noted on Table: Cleric under “Spells per day.” These spells are treated like any other spell, but they are not expended when cast and may be used again.

If memory serves divine spell casters get Orisons while Arcane casters have Cantrips. Same thing essentially.

Sczarni

Everyone's got it dead on. Level 0 spells can be used as many times as the player wants or your GM allows. Prepare as many different ones as you're allowed, and fire away.

Grand Lodge

Joe Dunn wrote:
Everyone's got it dead on. Level 0 spells can be used as many times as the player wants or your GM allows. Prepare as many different ones as you're allowed, and fire away.

One of the things I dig about PF... sure its sorta crappy spells at 0 level BUT they can use them all day... free acid orb or Frostbeam is at least SOMETHING when one is out of spells and unarmed and with some creative thought some of the other cantrips come off a-ok.

Mending is a beautiful level 0 spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric Use of 0 Level spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions