Ant Swarm (consume)


Rules Questions


Swarm Traits: A swarm does damage to any creatures whose space they occupy at the end their move.

Distraction: A living creature that takes damage from the swarm is nauseated for 1 round.

Consume: A nauseated creature takes double damage from an army ant swarm.

1) Can an ant swarm take one move action to move over Creature A (and does damage at end of move), and then take another move action to move over Creature B (and does damage at end of move)? So, two attacks per round?

2) If the ant swarm moves over Creature A and does damage, and creature A fails against Distraction, it is nauseated for 1 round. So, if the ant swarm remains over creature A on the next round, Creature A will take double damage, correct?

Liberty's Edge

reefwood wrote:


1) Can an ant swarm take one move action to move over Creature A (and does damage at end of move), and then take another move action to move over Creature B (and does damage at end of move)? So, two attacks per round?

Nope. It says at the end of their movement, not the end of a move action. So if they take two move actions, whoever they end up on takes the damage

reefwood wrote:
2) If the ant swarm moves over Creature A and does damage, and creature A fails against Distraction, it is nauseated for 1 round. So, if the ant swarm remains over creature A on the next round, Creature A will take double damage, correct?

Correct.


Deadmanwalking wrote:
reefwood wrote:


1) Can an ant swarm take one move action to move over Creature A (and does damage at end of move), and then take another move action to move over Creature B (and does damage at end of move)? So, two attacks per round?
Nope. It says at the end of their movement, not the end of a move action. So if they take two move actions, whoever they end up on takes the damage

Actually, my book doesn't say "move action" or "movement". It just says "at the end of their move".

I thought I might have read somewhere that swarms can only take one move action per turn anyway, so attacking at the end of each move (action) would still only be one attack per turn.

Anyway, if they can take two move actions per turn, but the intent is for them to only attack once per turn, that is fine by me. I just wanted to make sure.

Deadmanwalking wrote:
reefwood wrote:
2) If the ant swarm moves over Creature A and does damage, and creature A fails against Distraction, it is nauseated for 1 round. So, if the ant swarm remains over creature A on the next round, Creature A will take double damage, correct?
Correct.

Okay, great. I wasn't sure because the nauseated condition from distraction only lasts 1 round, so I was wondering if it would be over by the time the swarm attacked again on the its next turn. Sometimes it can be tricky for me to measure the precise start or end of an action or effect when it isn't spelled out (i.e. start of their turn, end of your turn, etc).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ant Swarm (consume) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions