The White
|
I am in the process of creating a Witch for a game starting on Friday and have been looking over the item creation rules (specifically potions) and unless I am missing something I can create whatever potion I feel like on a roll of 2 or better (an without rolling for level 0,1 or 2 spells) at first level. As I read it, DC for creating items is 5 + CL + 5 if you don't know the spell. I'm assuming that CL for potions is
Level 0/1 = CL1
Level 2 = CL3
Level 3 = CL5
So level 3 potions are DC 10 if you know the spell or 15 if you don't. By taking Cauldron at level 1 I get Brew potion and +4 on Craft(Alchemy), this means that at level 1 I have a total of +13 to Craft(Alchemy)(1+3[class skill]+5[I rolled well and have 20Int]+4[Cauldron])
Basically, unless I'm missing something, I can be cranking out pots of Cure Serious (or any other 3rd level spell that can be potioned) for half price on a roll of 2+ on a d20 at level 1 and any other potionalble spell without rolling. Please tell me I'm missing something here because that seems mildly broken
| The Wraith |
You are indeed correct on the DC formula, and since a Potion is neither a spell-completion (like a Scroll) nor a spell-trigger (like a Wand or a Staff) magic item, a Witch could theoretically craft even potions for which (s)he doesn't know the spell.
However, please remember that for a 1st level character, crafting a Potion of a 3rd-level spell is no easy feat due to the high cost; at half price, a 3rd-level spell potion (like a Cure Seriorus Wounds potion) would still cost 375 gp, which is way beyond the gp possession of such a character. An NPC caster working for the local lord could theorethically have the money at disposal, but a typical PC would still have to wait until 3rd-4th level in order to easily afford to spend such amount of money on a single temporary magic item.
Just my 2c.
EDIT:
You have to be at least the minimum caster level to cast the spell you're making a potion of. So no making 3rd level spell potions until you can cast 3rd level spells.
Hmm, I haven't thought of the caster level, which is not usually a prerequisite for most magic items (it only sets the DC) but for items like scrolls, wands or potions it COULD be. I am a bit at a loss here...
| stringburka |
The Wraith is correct. You can, if you get the money. Symar is wrong, however; there's no requirement of caster level. There's the requirement of knowing the spell, which can be circumvented, but there's no difference between a 5th level wizard creating a PoCSW and a 5th level cleric doing it; caster level isn't an issue at all.
Benchak the Nightstalker
Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8
|
Hmm, I haven't thought of the caster level, which is not usually a prerequisite for most magic items (it only sets the DC) but for items like scrolls, wands or potions it COULD be. I am a bit at a loss here...
Potions are one situation where your CL matters.
From the Brew Potion feat:
"When you create a potion, you set the caster level, which must be sufficient to cast the spell in question and no higher than your own level."
| Symar |
Symar is wrong, however; there's no requirement of caster level.
Potions are one situation where your CL matters.From the Brew Potion feat:
"When you create a potion, you set the caster level, which must be sufficient to cast the spell in question and no higher than your own level."
I probably should have included that in my post, but yes. Potions call out that you need to be the proper caster level.
The White
|
Cheers Symar and Ben, I'm actually happy that this is the case. Does this also mean no crafting potions that aren't on the Witch list or is the only real pre-req that carachtel level >= caster level?
As for the gold issue, at least one of our party is taking the Rich Parents trait so I could easily give him access to two third level spells in return for a favor later if it had worked that way. As is I can could cram a LOT of 1st level spells.
What I have gotten out of this is that if a Witch is only planning on brewing potions, there is no point to spending more than 1 or 2 skill ranks in Craft(Alchemy)
| stringburka |
Cheers Symar and Ben, I'm actually happy that this is the case. Does this also mean no crafting potions that aren't on the Witch list or is the only real pre-req that carachtel level >= caster level?
It seems as if only caster level is an issue, not having the spell on the list. Of course, if you can get your hands on the feat, the DC drops by 5.
As for investing in Craft (Alchemy) for potions, no, it generally isn't needed. If your group is the houseruling type, and you feel you should gain benefit from investing in it, your DM might adapt a rule of "increase DC by 10 to craft in half time" or something like that.
| Hobbun |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
The Wraith wrote:
Hmm, I haven't thought of the caster level, which is not usually a prerequisite for most magic items (it only sets the DC) but for items like scrolls, wands or potions it COULD be. I am a bit at a loss here...Potions are one situation where your CL matters.
From the Brew Potion feat:
"When you create a potion, you set the caster level, which must be sufficient to cast the spell in question and no higher than your own level."
Yes, but then you run into that usual (messy) argument of can this 'must' be bypassed with a +5 DC? Just like others have made the argument the 3*CL for each modifier for making magic weapons and armor can be bypassed.
Personally, I am along your thinking in this is the RAI and if I was GM, I would enforce the CL in this case. However, I can see those still making that argument it can be bypassed.
I really wish Paizo would clarify what can and can't be bypassed with a +5 DC.
| stringburka |
Benchak the Nightstalker wrote:Yes, but then you run into that usual (messy) argument of can this 'must' be bypassed with a +5 DC? Just like others have made the argument the 3*CL for each modifier for making magic weapons and armor can be bypassed.The Wraith wrote:
Hmm, I haven't thought of the caster level, which is not usually a prerequisite for most magic items (it only sets the DC) but for items like scrolls, wands or potions it COULD be. I am a bit at a loss here...Potions are one situation where your CL matters.
From the Brew Potion feat:
"When you create a potion, you set the caster level, which must be sufficient to cast the spell in question and no higher than your own level."
It cannot be bypassed, and neither can that 3*CL for weapon enhancement bonus. Those aren't listed in the Crafting Requirements section (an interesting note though, is that at least at d20pfsrd, 3*CL is listed as a requirement for an amulet of mighty fists, so for the amulet it can be skipped. Amusing.).
But yes, the rules are a bit unclear and counter-intuitive; it should have noted specifically that it can only skip requirements listed in the "crafting requirements" section and nothing else.
Benchak the Nightstalker
Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8
|
Yes, but then you run into that usual (messy) argument of can this 'must' be bypassed with a +5 DC? Just like others have made the argument the 3*CL for each modifier for making magic weapons and armor can be bypassed.
Personally, I am along your thinking in this is the RAI and if I was GM, I would enforce the CL in this case. However, I can see those still making that argument it can be bypassed.
I really wish Paizo would clarify what can and can't be bypassed with a +5 DC.
I can see the argument, but it's a limitation, not a prerequisite, so definitely not bypass-able.
If it helps, think of the order of operations you'd use:
1. First you pick CL (there are limits on what you can choose).
2. CL determines Craft DC
3. Prerequisites modify the Craft DC
4. You craft the item
You can't bypass the CL bit because you need a DC to add 5 to, which means you've already set the CL by the time you get that far.