That good ol' grappling routine


Rules Questions


Here's the thing:

A friend of mine plays a monk in a RotRL campaign.
Facing the fact that we don't really have a meat shield, he is thinking about finding a niche for his Monk.

That niche is grappling a foe, thereby removing that foe (and himself) from combat.

My question is about grappling, as I cannot really draw a satisfactory answer from RAW.

When grappling a foe, can the monk still deflect arrows?

Deflect Arrows states that you need a free hand and must be aware of the attack.
Grappled states you cannot do anything that requires two hands.
Still I think grappling someone who to all intents and purposes doe not want to be grappled should make you unaware of ranged attacks.

Is there a ruling I am missing?

Paizo Employee Developer

The Rules wrote:
Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll.

Your friend can grapple, but unless he takes that -4, both hands are occupied and he can't deflect arrows.


grappled condition prevents use of 2-handed actions unless you have more than 2 arms.
1-handed actions are A-OK, and only if you can`t dedicate both hands to the grapple DURING the grapple action are you penalized on that grapple CMB check,
grappled doesn`t restrict your actions for an entire round unless you take the penalty.
deflect arrows doesn`t work if you are flat-footed, but grappled doesn`t do that, only pinned does.
so deflect arrows while grappled looks 100% legit (if you have an empty hand, you can`t drop things off your turn).

you can even apparently even be stunned and still deflect arrows, as it explicitly isn`t an action, nor requires an attack roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / That good ol' grappling routine All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions