mage hand activation


Rules Questions


the item description says at will, is this a free action or a standard action?

Grand Lodge

Pendagast wrote:
the item description says at will, is this a free action or a standard action?

He can cast mage hand from the hand of the mage as often as he likes. Unless otherwise stated, using a magic item is a standard action, which is also the usual casting time for the spell. Wondrous items are typically command word or use activated, either of which makes sense here (the user might clasp the hand to activate the spell).

The Exchange

The Mage Hand cantrip is a standard action to cast, a standard action to maintain concentration each round, and a move action to actually move anything with it. Same with the item; 'at will' just means there's no limit to the number of times you can use it (like a Wizard or Sorcerer using the cantrip).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / mage hand activation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions