| wraithstrike |
If you have a Intelligent Shield, for example, that has spell casting abilities, are those spells cast as Spell-like abilities?
A Shield can't complete Somatic components [no fingers or such].
If they are spell-like abilities, would they provoke AoO's?
My head is filled with confusment :-{)
Sometimes the rule "the creator said so" will have to do. If you want to go 100% by the rules make them SLA's. In the end it won't really matter. It will still be the same affect. You could also make it a special ability that functions like spell X.
| stuart haffenden |
Page 532:
Unlike most magic items, intelligent items can activate their own powers without waiting for a command word from their owner. Intelligent items act during their owner’s turn in the initiative order.
Ok so no command word is required from the player but this doesn't confirm whether they would provoke AoO's. Or whether the item itself uses a command word to activate the spell.
| stuart haffenden |
stuart haffenden wrote:Sometimes the rule "the creator said so" will have to do. If you want to go 100% by the rules make them SLA's. In the end it won't really matter. It will still be the same affect. You could also make it a special ability that functions like spell X.If you have a Intelligent Shield, for example, that has spell casting abilities, are those spells cast as Spell-like abilities?
A Shield can't complete Somatic components [no fingers or such].
If they are spell-like abilities, would they provoke AoO's?
My head is filled with confusment :-{)
SLA seems right to me. What about the AoO's?
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:SLA seems right to me. What about the AoO's?stuart haffenden wrote:Sometimes the rule "the creator said so" will have to do. If you want to go 100% by the rules make them SLA's. In the end it won't really matter. It will still be the same affect. You could also make it a special ability that functions like spell X.If you have a Intelligent Shield, for example, that has spell casting abilities, are those spells cast as Spell-like abilities?
A Shield can't complete Somatic components [no fingers or such].
If they are spell-like abilities, would they provoke AoO's?
My head is filled with confusment :-{)
The powers don't provoke and never did. Now if you are saying make them into SLA's then the item has to have caster levels. I would honestly just rather leave them as they are, but if you insist on a proper title then supernatural would work the best since it fits the most closely.
Are you asking about the current rules or are you trying to make an item with spells, and trying to figure out the best way to do so. I guess I should have asked that first.