Transformative Limits


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So, I recently bought the transformative property for my weapon in PFS. I bought it to overcome various weapon type DRs or when having to fight underwater, (which happens far too often, grumble, grumble, grumble). But the problem I'm having is that the description on it is really vague. It seemingly has no limits.

Any ideas on what the limits to it are? Can I turn a longsword into a greatsword or another two handed weapon? I haven't really found any clarifications. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.


Madclaw wrote:

So, I recently bought the transformative property for my weapon in PFS. I bought it to overcome various weapon type DRs or when having to fight underwater, (which happens far too often, grumble, grumble, grumble). But the problem I'm having is that the description on it is really vague. It seemingly has no limits.

Any ideas on what the limits to it are? Can I turn a longsword into a greatsword or another two handed weapon? I haven't really found any clarifications. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

According to the SRD (I don't have my book with at the moment), you can only change it into a melee weapon of the same handedness. As such you cannot turn it into a greatsword or other two-handed weapon, and you can't turn your longsword into a shortsword. But any one-handed melee weapon can be done.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Madclaw wrote:

So, I recently bought the transformative property for my weapon in PFS. I bought it to overcome various weapon type DRs or when having to fight underwater, (which happens far too often, grumble, grumble, grumble). But the problem I'm having is that the description on it is really vague. It seemingly has no limits.

Any ideas on what the limits to it are? Can I turn a longsword into a greatsword or another two handed weapon? I haven't really found any clarifications. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You can change it into any melee weapon that shares the weapon's same category. You can't turn a longsword into a greatsword, in other words, because a longsword's category is a "one-handed weapon" and a greatsword is a "two-handed weapon."

The easiest way to visualize this is to look at a weapon table and then just limit your choices to the weapons grouped with your chosen weapon. For a transformative longsword, if you're just looking at weapons from the Core Rulebook, you could change your weapon into a battleaxe, a flail, a heavy pick, a rapier, a scimitar, a trident, or a warhammer. (Shields aren't allowed since they're technically not weapons, even though you can use them as one.)


James Jacobs wrote:
You can change it into any melee weapon that shares the weapon's same category. You can't turn a longsword into a greatsword, in other words, because a longsword's category is a "one-handed weapon" and a greatsword is a "two-handed weapon."

What about bastard swords?


Esquilax hortensis wrote:


What about bastard swords?

You can do that, as bastard swords are one-handed weapons, and the ability specifically states that it does not matter whether it is simple, martial or exotic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Transformative Limits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.