Question on Expanded Arcana


Rules Questions


If I have 2 different casting classes, and I take expanded Arcana, can I get one spell from each class as long as the spells are 1 level lower than each classes max?

For example: An Oracle 4/Sorcerer 4/Mystic Theurge X. Assuming the character gains their levels in that order, If I pick up Expanded Arcana at level 9, could I get a new Lv1 oracle spell and a Lv 1 SOrcerer Spell?


Darigaaz the Igniter wrote:

If I have 2 different casting classes, and I take expanded Arcana, can I get one spell from each class as long as the spells are 1 level lower than each classes max?

For example: An Oracle 4/Sorcerer 4/Mystic Theurge X. Assuming the character gains their levels in that order, If I pick up Expanded Arcana at level 9, could I get a new Lv1 oracle spell and a Lv 1 SOrcerer Spell?

no. you only get it for one class. so oracle OR sorcerer, not both.


Actually, i don't find anything in the feat description that would prohibit you to do so. You have two class spell lists and two lists of spells known and if you stay below the highest level on both lists, there should be no problem. You just don't get two spells for each class.


The wording on the feat implies a single class giving you spells (by use of singular grammar) I think this is a case where they didn't want to bloat the rules of the feat with details of all the corner cases. I can't see any game breaking problems with getting spells from multiple classes, as long as they all obey the lower level restriction.

As with all grey rules questions, check with your GM. I'd allow it, but YMMV

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on Expanded Arcana All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions