Charging with Nautural, Reach Attacks


Rules Questions


I'm confused about where a monster with reach ends its charge movement. The charge rules say, "You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent."

What does it mean by "closest space"? The space closest to the target, or the space closest to the charger's starting space?

Does the charging monster end its charge adjacent to the target, or 5 feet away from the target? Either one could make sense, RAW and thematically, to me.


It means if you have 10 foot reach you can stop 10 feet from your target. Ie the nearest space that you can attack them.


Mojorat wrote:
It means if you have 10 foot reach you can stop 10 feet from your target. Ie the nearest space that you can attack them.

TY


Mojorat wrote:
It means if you have 10 foot reach you can stop 10 feet from your target. Ie the nearest space that you can attack them.

Nearly correct. If you have 10 foot reach you must stop 10 feet from your target. Ie the nearest space that you can attack them.


Quantum Steve wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
It means if you have 10 foot reach you can stop 10 feet from your target. Ie the nearest space that you can attack them.
Nearly correct. If you have 10 foot reach you must stop 10 feet from your target. I.e. the nearest space that you can attack them.

Almost correct. That depends on the reach of the weapon you perform the charge attack WITH.

For example, if you have one natural attack with Reach and the rest does not have reach, you can choose to lead with one of the ones that do not have reach, or instead the one having reach if you would.

In either case, the reach of the weapon you perform the attack with, dictates at what distance you must stop the charge.

If you have Pounce it is the same principle, only here it is more important that you lead with a non-reach attack to get all into the face of the enemy with as many attacks as possible. - OR you may indeed choose to stop at longest reach if you have several of those and do not want to get into the target's threat range.

Indeed, if the target has Reach of his own, going into base contact can be painful.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charging with Nautural, Reach Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions