Arcane School and Multiclassing


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I've searched the Messageboards for an hour or two so far, and haven't found an answer to my question, so for the Rules Forum, I ask:

When a Wizard Mutliclasses, do they still get the extra spell slot for their Arcane school?

the way I read it as yes, you get a bonus slot all the way to ninth at first level, you just can't actually power them, comes with the using two slots to prepare banned spells.

just wanted to make sure my reading was correct.
thank you for your time and responses.

Grand Lodge

Are you talking about multiclassing with a non-casting class or a class that grants spellcasting progression?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Are you talking about multiclassing with a non-casting class or a class that grants spellcasting progression?

sorry, spell casting progression, otherwise you wouldn't be able to cast those spells anyways.

i mean for things like a Bloatmage, Eldritch knight, etc.

Grand Lodge

Yes, you only get those spell slots when you gain spells of those levels. You cannot get bonus spell slots when your number of slots per day is "-" on the class chart.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
TriOmegaZero wrote:
Yes, you only get those spell slots when you gain spells of those levels. You cannot get bonus spell slots when your number of slots per day is "-" on the class chart.

thank you, that's what I thought, but I figured I'd ask cause I can see it as being one of those "class specific benefits" that Spell casting Progression in a PrC doesn't grant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane School and Multiclassing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions