DR: Barbarian and adamantine


Rules Questions


Can these sources of DR stack? The DR granted by the barbarian class, and that granted by the adamantine armors.


blope wrote:
Can these sources of DR stack? The DR granted by the barbarian class, and that granted by the adamantine armors.

Multiple sources of DR do not stack unless they specifically say so. You use the better DR for the given attack.


Kierato wrote:
blope wrote:
Can these sources of DR stack? The DR granted by the barbarian class, and that granted by the adamantine armors.
Multiple sources of DR do not stack unless they specifically say so. You use the better DR for the given attack.

I thought DR stacked if it was of the same type. Barbarians and adamantine armor both give dr /- so they would stack.


Thanatos95 wrote:
Kierato wrote:
blope wrote:
Can these sources of DR stack? The DR granted by the barbarian class, and that granted by the adamantine armors.
Multiple sources of DR do not stack unless they specifically say so. You use the better DR for the given attack.
I thought DR stacked if it was of the same type. Barbarians and adamantine armor both give dr /- so they would stack.

Nope. DR from multiple sources, even if it is the same type, does not stack.


I gotta look through the rules again because I'm pretty sure it works that if someone with DR10/- and DR5/adamantine gets hit with an adamantine sword, it takes off 10 damage but if they get hit with a silver sword they take off 15.


Core Rulebook wrote:


If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.


It appears Kierato is correct.

PRD wrote:
"If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation. "

Ninjad ^_^


Initially, it seems that they don't stack: Glossary says "If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack."

But does "from more than one source" mean "from different abilities" or "from more than one source of damage"? In the first case, DR from different abilities wouldn't stack but DR against different type of damage would (strange, this one). In the second, DR of the same type gained from different abilities would stack: DR 5/Silver and DR 3/- wouldn't stack, but DR 3/- and DR 4/- would.

Thoughts?

What about the feats increasing DR? Are they "another source" and don't stack with the DR they are supposed to increase?

Now, another thought exercise...

Non-colliding archetypes can be stacked, but what about their DR-related abilities? Would the following abilities stack?
- Drunken Master level 20 => DR 3/-
- Monk of the Sacred Mountain level 20 => DR 4/-
Since they are gained by exchanging some monk abilities, I think not stacking them would be a waste.

Another question: a monk of the Sacred Mountain can "double his DR" (not "this DR") by spending a ki point. Does that mean that he could double all his DR (obtained through Barbarian levels, adamantine armors, lycanthrope template, whatever)?


Louis IX wrote:


But does "from more than one source" mean "from different abilities" or "from more than one source of damage"? In the first case, DR from different abilities wouldn't stack but DR against different type of damage would (strange, this one). In the second, DR of the same type gained from different abilities would stack: DR 5/Silver and DR 3/- wouldn't stack, but DR 3/- and DR 4/- would.

Thoughts?

Normally 'source' refers to spells or abilities that grants an effect. I can't see any reason to understand it differently here.

Louis IX wrote:
What about the feats increasing DR? Are they "another source" and don't stack with the DR they are supposed to increase?

If a feat (or ability) specifically increase DR, then they increase said DR instead of granting a new source of DR.

Louis IX wrote:

Now, another thought exercise...

Non-colliding archetypes can be stacked, but what about their DR-related abilities? Would the following abilities stack?
- Drunken Master level 20 => DR 3/-
- Monk of the Sacred Mountain level 20 => DR 4/-
Since they are gained by exchanging some monk abilities, I think not stacking them would be a waste.

As above, they wouldn't stack. I would be concerned with allowing DR 7/- as it is well above the Barbarian (who in my book is the class entitleted to it).

If a character took said archetype combo, then I would just let him get Diamond Body or Evasion instead of one of the DR abilities.

Louis IX wrote:
Another question: a monk of the Sacred Mountain can "double his DR" (not "this DR") by spending a ki point. Does that mean that he could double all his DR (obtained through Barbarian levels, adamantine armors, lycanthrope template, whatever)?

RAW can't give a definite answer to that one. I would personally assume that it is intended to double the DR granted from the same ability.

But if there were some builds that could get a 1 or 2 points of DR extra when spending a ki point, then I as a GM would be inclined to allow it.

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

The only time DR stacks is when the class ability, feat, magic items, etc. directly states that it will stack.

For instance the Stalwart Defender

PRD-Advanced Prestige Classes:Stalwart Defender wrote:
Damage Reduction (Ex): At 5th level, a stalwart defender gains DR 1/—. At 7th level, this DR increases to 3/—, and at 10th level it increases to 5/—. Damage reduction from different sources does not stack; however, a stalwart defender of 5th or higher level that gains DR from armor (but not from any other source) increases his class-based DR by the value of the armor's DR. Thus a 7th-level stalwart defender wearing adamantine full plate (DR 3/—) has DR 6/—.

In the case of stalwart defender his DR can be increased by adamantine armor and only adamantine armor.


+1 to OgeXam.

The only time I would allow universal DR to stack would be if I was playing the "armor as DR" Variant... where the values of Armor, Shield, and Natural Armor bonus are instead treated as DR.

(For instance, Leather Armor would provide DR 2/- , a Buckler would provide 1/-, and an Amulet of Natural Armor +2 would provide another 2/- for a total of 5/-... plus class abilities)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DR: Barbarian and adamantine All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions