Another Splash Damage Thread


Rules Questions


If a large or larger creature gets a splash weapon thrown at him, because he technically also takes up squares in the splash zone, does he take the 1 point of splash damage?

If you throw a glass vial on top of a dragon and it breaks, will most of the material in the vial be splashed on the dragon? logically, yes it will. But throw it a gnome, and the splash chance is severely lessened. If you only apply splash damage once that's only an extra 5 damage (depending on int mod) for alchemical items, and 1/2 of 5d6+5 which isn't that much.

I'm not talking taking an extra point of damage per square, but if you're in the splash zone as well as being the target, take the splash damage only once. I ask because my alchemist came up against a couple large enemies, and the only thing it says about hitting large creatures with a splash weapon is that you can't target the intersection it's at.

Grand Lodge

Each creature is a single target. You either hit it or miss it, not both. You don't give a Large creature 4 times as much damage from a fireball, do you?


Starglim wrote:
Each creature is a single target. You either hit it or miss it, not both. You don't give a Large creature 4 times as much damage from a fireball, do you?

No, but a fireball is not a splash weapon. I'm not saying hit it for 1d6+3 (+1 per square) but only apply splash damage once. That could be conceivable given a larger creature being splashed with a liquid could it not?

Scarab Sages

Relevant link.


essentially if I drop a 5d6 +7 bomb next to an ogre for 12 splash damage. how much damag does it take? having each square splashed seems a bit obscene on big creatures there would be no indenture for a direct hit


Mojorat wrote:
essentially if I drop a 5d6 +7 bomb next to an ogre for 12 splash damage. how much damag does it take? having each square splashed seems a bit obscene on big creatures there would be no indenture for a direct hit

12. We don't want people offing the colossal great worm with one frost bomb for 36*7 damage


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You throw the bomb at a creature of any size. It takes a single instance of bomb damage. All creatures adjacent to the target take a single instance of splash damage.

Simple.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another Splash Damage Thread All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions