Do full round actions resolve on the player's turn or beginning of their next?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Something I'm confused on, though maybe it's spelled out clearly, I haven't seen.

Does an action that is a full round action (say as an example a spell) resolve at the end of the player's turn (effectively using up the move and standard actions) or until the beginning of their next turn during the next round?

I recently got the SORD PF from drivethruRPG and am realizing I may have been doing things wrong...

Liberty's Edge

If you mean spells with a 1 round casting time, they resolve just prior to your next turn.

Example: Casting Summon monster 1 on round 1. The monster will appear just prior to your turn on round 2


srd5090 wrote:


Something I'm confused on, though maybe it's spelled out clearly, I haven't seen.

Does an action that is a full round action (say as an example a spell) resolve at the end of the player's turn (effectively using up the move and standard actions) or until the beginning of their next turn during the next round?

I recently got the SORD PF from drivethruRPG and am realizing I may have been doing things wrong...

Full round actions takes your whole turn worth of actions, except for a 5 foot step and they usually resolve immediately, in that same turn.

A spell with a full round casting time, requires a full round action to cast but will not take effect / be resolved till the beginning of your next turn, until that time you are considered to be casting the spell and can be disrupted.

Note that a spell spontaneously affected by meta-magic requires a full round action to cast, but this is not the same as a full round casting time in that it is resolved in your turn.

Dark Archive

Remco Sommeling wrote:
srd5090 wrote:


Something I'm confused on, though maybe it's spelled out clearly, I haven't seen.

Does an action that is a full round action (say as an example a spell) resolve at the end of the player's turn (effectively using up the move and standard actions) or until the beginning of their next turn during the next round?

I recently got the SORD PF from drivethruRPG and am realizing I may have been doing things wrong...

Full round actions takes your whole turn worth of actions, except for a 5 foot step and they usually resolve immediately, in that same turn.

A spell with a full round casting time, requires a full round action to cast but will not take effect / be resolved till the beginning of your next turn, until that time you are considered to be casting the spell and can be disrupted.

Note that a spell spontaneously affected by meta-magic requires a full round action to cast, but this is not the same as a full round casting time in that it is resolved in your turn.

Thanks for all the clarification. Especially that last bit.


Actually a spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full round action that doesn't go off until the following round. A spell that has a casting time of a full round action is different and would go off once the spell is cast.

This makes a difference for spontaneous casters that use metamagic -- casting such a spell is a full round action (or longer) but isn't a 1 round casting time spell and thus goes off after the full round action to cast it.


Yes, the key point is that a "1 round action" is not the same as a "full round action".

Fighters with multiple attacks must take a full round action to do so, but they make all of the attack rolls and damage rolls at one time on their turn. In the same way a caster casting a full round action spell gets to cast the spell on their turn.

Dark Archive

Ahhh ok. That makes sense. Sometimes the wording is easy to misconstrue.

Thank you all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do full round actions resolve on the player's turn or beginning of their next? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions