Ranged Touch Attack - I missed, what now?


Rules Questions


Hey guys a question came up in game on the weekend and we basically looked to the rulebook for an answer with no luck.

Where does it say that if a spellcaster misses with a Ranged Touch Attack spell that the spell is wasted?

Where does it say of the spellcaster misses with a Touch Attack spell the spell is not expended?

Any help would be appreciated.
FDM


Quote:

Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases,

if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast
it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the
spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after
round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another
spell, the touch spell dissipates.

Page 216 under ... the heading.

If you miss with a touch spell, it's held in your hand. Not spent.

If you miss with a ray, it's held in the ray. If you miss, it's spent because the ray is instantaneous and disappears or it's assumed to have hit the terrain harmlessly. Either way, there's nothing saying the ray is held so you don't get to hold rays.


The bottom left hand side of page 216 specifies what happens regarding expending the charge of a melee touch attack spell.

Ranged touch spells don't have charges in the same way, but I can't give you a direct quote at the moment.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

So could I cast scorching ray, NOT fire, and then hold the charge to fire it on a later round (at which point it will be spent).

It is a touch spell after all (albeit a ranged touch spell).


Ravingdork wrote:

So could I cast scorching ray, NOT fire, and then hold the charge to fire it on a later round (at which point it will be spent).

It is a touch spell after all (albeit a ranged touch spell).

Scorching Ray isn't a touch spell. It has "Range: close", not "Range: touch", which is what makes a spell a touch spell.

No spells exist that has "Range: ranged touch". If there were, I imagine you would be able to hold the charge on those too.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Are wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

So could I cast scorching ray, NOT fire, and then hold the charge to fire it on a later round (at which point it will be spent).

It is a touch spell after all (albeit a ranged touch spell).

Scorching Ray isn't a touch spell. It has "Range: close", not "Range: touch", which is what makes a spell a touch spell.

No spells exist that has "Range: ranged touch". If there were, I imagine you would be able to hold the charge on those too.

Ah. I'm thinking of ranged touch attacks and melee touch attacks. They are both touch attacks, but I guess that's not the same thing as what's being discussed here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ranged Touch Attack - I missed, what now? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions