Counterspell Questions


Rules Questions


So, was looking through the SRD for Counterspelling, and found the following entry

Quote:

Counterspells

It is possible to cast any spell as a counterspell. By doing so, you are using the spell's energy to disrupt the casting of the same spell by another character. Counterspelling works even if one spell is divine and the other arcane.

How Counterspells Work: To use a counterspell, you must select an opponent as the target of the counterspell. You do this by choosing to ready an action. In doing so, you elect to wait to complete your action until your opponent tries to cast a spell. You may still move at your normal speed, since ready is a standard action.

If the target of your counterspell tries to cast a spell, make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + the spell's level). This check is a free action. If the check succeeds, you correctly identify the opponent's spell and can attempt to counter it. If the check fails, you can't do either of these things.

To complete the action, you must then cast an appropriate spell. As a general rule, a spell can only counter itself. If you are able to cast the same spell and you have it prepared (or have a slot of the appropriate level available), you cast it, creating a counterspell effect. If the target is within range, both spells automatically negate each other with no other results.

My buddy and I disagree on one aspect. The line that is parentheticals "or have a slot of the appropriate level available", he believes could apply to a wizard with an appropriately open level spell slot. I believe that line refers only to spontaneous spellcasters.

So if an enemy casts a fireball, if a wizard has an open 3rd level spell slot, he could use the arcane energy from that open spell slot to counterspell the fireball. That's his belief. My belief is that the "slot of appropriate level available" is only for spontaneous spellcasters.

So are we both right? only spontaneous casting, etc. I don't think the wording is ambiguous enough for it, he does.

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

Intent is that "slot of appropriate level available" is for spontaneous spellcasters.

Since it is not directly stated, it leaves it up to the DM.

Though it is an interesting idea to leave spell slots open for dispels of that level. They won't have those spells during combat since they have to spend time memorizing later. So it balances out some. I sort of like the idea.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Counterspell Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.