Pit Trap Question?


Rules Questions


I have a couple of question.
1. If you cast a pit trap and a large creature falls in do they effectively take up the entire pit?

2.What were to happen if another creature were to fall into the pit?

3. If you drop a flaming sphere into the hole can it miss the ogre? Would you apply any penalties to the ogre's dodging the sphere?

4. Does the second creature fall on top of the first large creature or do you use the squeeze rules?

5. Do they immediately grapple?

We had this scenario occur a few weeks back and there was a lot of head scratching. I think my GM handled it admirably but I was wondering how everyone else might have handled it. An ogre had fallen into the hole then the next round while the ogre was trying to climb out our ranger who was trying to drop lamp oil on the ogre's head fell in after him.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I don't know the spell in question. Where is the spell listed?

1) maybe, he can squeeze to take up 1/2 the space
2) falling damage applied to both creatures, maybe a Ref save for the one in the pit to avoid being crushed, save for 1/2 damage.
3) creature could squeeze to the side to avoid the sphere. squeezing does not call out a penalty though. maybe a -2 penalty to the save at GM discretion.
4) fall on top (ref answer 2) but then squeeze when both are standing
5) no, they have to take a standard action to grapple


1) I'd say he can squeeze, but he'd take the usual penalties if he does, the actual space a creature takes is an abstraction two gores standing next to eachother would fit fine for most purposes.

2) I'd treat it as a falling object page 443 core rule book, ranged touch attack or dc 15 reflex save for 1/2 depending on the creature trying to land on the ogre or not.

3) yes it could miss, a flaming sphere is assumed to enter a square of a creature to force a reflex save. A penalty of 2 would be a fair call I think, with possibly another penalty of 2 if another sphere was tossed in.

4) If the creature was not actively try to land and hold on to the ogre, I'd use the squeeze rules, otherwise a dc 15 dexterity check will allow him to hold on after hitting him, forcing the ogre to grapple him in the next turn which might be desirable.

5) I'd not allow him to make an active grapple attack after falling in and inflicting damage on the ogre, but he can hold on or land next to him as he wishes.


Thomas LeBlanc wrote:

I don't know the spell in question. Where is the spell listed?

Advanced Player's Guide.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

cwslyclgh wrote:
Thomas LeBlanc wrote:

I don't know the spell in question. Where is the spell listed?

Advanced Player's Guide.

oh, it is called Create Pit and that is why i couldn't find it...


Thomas LeBlanc wrote:
cwslyclgh wrote:
Thomas LeBlanc wrote:

I don't know the spell in question. Where is the spell listed?

Advanced Player's Guide.
oh, it is called Create Pit and that is why i couldn't find it...

Yeah sorry about that. By the time I realized my mistake I couldn't figure out how to change the post...


Remco Sommeling wrote:

1) I'd say he can squeeze, but he'd take the usual penalties if he does, the actual space a creature takes is an abstraction two gores standing next to eachother would fit fine for most purposes.

2) I'd treat it as a falling object page 443 core rule book, ranged touch attack or dc 15 reflex save for 1/2 depending on the creature trying to land on the ogre or not.

3) yes it could miss, a flaming sphere is assumed to enter a square of a creature to force a reflex save. A penalty of 2 would be a fair call I think, with possibly another penalty of 2 if another sphere was tossed in.

4) If the creature was not actively try to land and hold on to the ogre, I'd use the squeeze rules, otherwise a dc 15 dexterity check will allow him to hold on after hitting him, forcing the ogre to grapple him in the next turn which might be desirable.

5) I'd not allow him to make an active grapple attack after falling in and inflicting damage on the ogre, but he can hold on or land next to him as he wishes.

This is pretty much how we handled it. We just assumed since the ranger fell in he was in no position to activate an immediate grapple on the ogre... Although why a gnomish ranger would want to grapple a ogre I have no idea.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pit Trap Question? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions