| bogbear |
On Page 551 of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook (the page referenced by the index for Potion Creation) it states " ... the cost for brewing the potion [is] 25 gp x the level of the spell x the level of the caster" but whenever I see anyone else referencing crafting potions it's "50 gp x the level of the spell x the level of the caster". What gives?
Additionally; it states that "The imbiber of the potion is both the caster and the target."
Does this mean that the imbiber's caster level is used to determine the effect of the spell? For example, does a Potion of Cure Light Wounds brewed by a Level 5 Character but imbibed by a Level 3 Character heal for 1d8+5 or 1d8+3? I assume that because the level of the caster effects the cost of creating the potion that is the former. If not, that's dumb.
Also; How does Metamagic effect Potion Brewing, if at all?
| BigNorseWolf |
Cost to brew is 25X caster level X spell level
Cost to to BUY aka, the market price is 50X caster level X spell level. Potions cost 1/2 this to brew (hence the X25 instead of X50)*
Does this mean that the imbiber's caster level is used to determine the effect of the spell?
No. It means they get to decide whatever the caster would, like what kind of energy they would be protected again, or whether the greater magic fang would apply to one attack or all their attacks. If you want CLW to pack more punch you have to up the caster level:... which is usually a bad idea. You wind up paying twice as much for an extra 1 point of healing, so most potions are made at the minimum caster level.
*spells with a fancy expensive component simply add to both of these equally.