| Pavlovian |
I have a few questions on varying situations using a charge attack.
1) Can a caster with a held charge of a touch spell, charge an enemy to gain +2 attack bonus to the touch attack?
2) If you charge an enemy, can you use the Acrobatics skill to ignore parts of difficult terrain by jumping towards the enemy? If so, does the charging character need a running start?
3) If three medium character, standing next to each other, charge a medium opponent, can they all charge, or do they need to choose the same square as their destination point? (in the rules it says, closest to the enemy from their point...)
4) RAW says the only Combat Maneuver where you gain the charge bonus to attack rolls is Bull Rush. Does this also mean Bull Rush is the only CM you can perform with a charge. Trip is a melee attack for instance; can you charge and still make a trip without taking the +2 attack bonus?
EDIT: added question 4
| Gilfalas |
I have a few questions on varying situations using a charge attack.
1) Can a caster with a held charge of a touch spell, charge an enemy to gain +2 attack bonus to the touch attack?
2) If you charge an enemy, can you use the Acrobatics skill to ignore parts of difficult terrain by jumping towards the enemy? If so, does the charging character need a running start?
3) If three medium character, standing next to each other, charge a medium opponent, can they all charge, or do they need to choose the same square as their destination point? (in the rules it says, closest to the enemy from their point...)
4) RAW says the only Combat Maneuver where you gain the charge bonus to attack rolls is Bull Rush. Does this also mean Bull Rush is the only CM you can perform with a charge. Trip is a melee attack for instance; can you charge and still make a trip without taking the +2 attack bonus?
EDIT: added question 4
1) I don't think there is any prohibition to a character who has a 'charged spell' held using the 'charge action' in a subsequent round after the casting. Should be legal.
2) Acrobatics can be used as part of movement, but a charge is a special combat action. I would be inclined to say yes you can do this but the final ruling will have to come from your ref. If he/she allows it remember that some uses of acrobatics can slow your total movement which could affect whether your charge reaches your target or not.
3) Open destination sqaures can and will affect the ability to charge an opponent. Since 3 different combatants will go in initiative order, who can do a succesful charge all depends on who can get a legal charge to the enemy first. Since no one can occupy the same space at the conclusion of movement they obviously cannot all use the same final location to charge.
But if the chargers are three abreast and are all charging the same target over open terrain and the target is directly ahead of the center of them then it should not be impossible for them to all charge straight ahead and all reach seperate legal charge destination squares.
4) Any combat maneuver you can combine with a charge will be explicitly specified in either the description for Charge or the description of the applicable Combat Manuever, like bull rush is.
| vip00 |
I have a few questions on varying situations using a charge attack.
1) Can a caster with a held charge of a touch spell, charge an enemy to gain +2 attack bonus to the touch attack?
2) If you charge an enemy, can you use the Acrobatics skill to ignore parts of difficult terrain by jumping towards the enemy? If so, does the charging character need a running start?
3) If three medium character, standing next to each other, charge a medium opponent, can they all charge, or do they need to choose the same square as their destination point? (in the rules it says, closest to the enemy from their point...)
4) RAW says the only Combat Maneuver where you gain the charge bonus to attack rolls is Bull Rush. Does this also mean Bull Rush is the only CM you can perform with a charge. Trip is a melee attack for instance; can you charge and still make a trip without taking the +2 attack bonus?
EDIT: added question 4
1. Yes, there is nothing specifying that the attack at the end of the charge can't be a touch attack
2. No. Charge explicitly states "You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles)."
3. Depends on the situation. 3 medium attackers charging 1 huge creature is not a problem. In less clear cases, I generally rule in favor of the players as long as it's reasonable. I don't see why this wouldn't work except special cases like 10-ft wide hallways where there is no adjacent square available.
4. Here's the deal with CM and charge. Here's what charge states: "After moving, you may make a single melee attack." Attacks like trip and sunder substitute for a melee attack, and therefore are valid options for a charging character. You even get the extra +2 because all attack modifiers apply to CMB rolls. Bull rush is singled out because normally bull rush is a STANDARD ACTION and therefore would not be available during a charge, but you can use it because it is explicitly stated in the bull rush description.