| GarrinB |
Hi all --
I'm quite new to Pathfinder, but look to run a couple sample games for a few friends. I'm looking at the pregenerated level one characters and making sure that I understand their stats, feats, etc.
One thing so far that I can't figure out is on the level 1 Valeros sheet, his Melee stats. It says Longsword +4 (1d8+4/19-20).
I keep thinking that his longsword is actually a +6 on the attack bonus.
BAB +1
STR +4
Weapon Focus Longsword +1
= +6
Then his shortsword says its a +3. Why is it lower? I read that the dmg bonus from strength is cut in half with off-hand weapons, which makes the 1d6+2 look accurate to me. But I couldn't find a reason for the +3 on the short sword.
Could anybody help me out better understand how these stats were figured?
Thanks!
| Joana |
Without actually looking at Valeros's stats, I believe he's a 2-weapon fighter. That applies a -2 penalty to each attack for the benefit of getting an extra attack with the second weapon in a full attack. The Weapon Focus in longsword explains the 1-point difference between the two.
EDIT: Or, what MisterSlanky just said. :)
| GarrinB |
Valeros is a dual-wielder, which means all attacks (assuming it's a longsword main attack and shortsword secondary attack) are at -2.
Main-Hand:
BAB +1
STR +4
Weapon Focus Longsword +1
Two-Weapon Fighting -2
Total = +4Off-Hand
BAB +1
STR +4
Two-Weapon Fighting -2
Total = +3
Excellent! Thanks
| GarrinB |
So new question on another Pregen. This time Ezren the wizard. On his character sheet it lists a couple of his at will cantrips with a DC.
disrupt undead (DC 14)
ray of frost (DC 15)
I guess I don't understand what these DC's are. They are not listed for other spells such as mage armor or magic missile.
Thanks for the help!
| Are |
I guess I don't understand what these DC's are. They are not listed for other spells such as mage armor or magic missile.
Some spells require the target of the spell to attempt to save against the effect. The DC is the "difficulty class" for the save. So, in order to save against the effect, the target would need to reach the listed number (or higher).
However, neither of the two spells you mention allow a save against the effect. If there's a DC listed for them, that is an error.
| GarrinB |
GarrinB wrote:I guess I don't understand what these DC's are. They are not listed for other spells such as mage armor or magic missile.
Some spells require the target of the spell to attempt to save against the effect. The DC is the "difficulty class" for the save. So, in order to save against the effect, the target would need to reach the listed number (or higher).
However, neither of the two spells you mention allow a save against the effect. If there's a DC listed for them, that is an error.
That is what I initially looked at myself. Like you said, I noticed that neither spell had a saving throw. Plus The DC's listed are different between the two spells, and as I understand it for spells of the same level would have the same DC? Or perhaps his Spell Focus talent is giving him a +1 towards Evocation spells?
But still strange for that type of error in a pregen.
| Joana |
Are wrote:GarrinB wrote:I guess I don't understand what these DC's are. They are not listed for other spells such as mage armor or magic missile.
Some spells require the target of the spell to attempt to save against the effect. The DC is the "difficulty class" for the save. So, in order to save against the effect, the target would need to reach the listed number (or higher).
However, neither of the two spells you mention allow a save against the effect. If there's a DC listed for them, that is an error.
That is what I initially looked at myself. Like you said, I noticed that neither spell had a saving throw. Plus The DC's listed are different between the two spells, and as I understand it for spells of the same level would have the same DC? Or perhaps his Spell Focus talent is giving him a +1 towards Evocation spells?
But still strange for that type of error in a pregen.
Disrupt undead and ray of frost do allow saves. The DC given is what whatever you cast them on has to roll to avoid damage. Are was referring to mage armor and magic missile, neither of which allows a save, so there is no DC listed. As you said, Ezren's Spell Focus (evocation) adds 1 to the DC of evocation spells, which is why the listed DC for ray of frost is one higher than the one for disrupt undead, which is not an evocation spell.
| GarrinB |
This would make total sense, except for that when I look up Ray of Frost and Disrupt Undead in the rule book and in the PRD, they both list Saving Throw none. Although they do say Spell Resistance yes.
I'm still very new to these rules so I have no doubt you are correct, I'm just trying to understand where I'm going wrong with my understanding.
| Joana |
This would make total sense, except for that when I look up Ray of Frost and Disrupt Undead in the rule book and in the PRD, they both list Saving Throw none. Although they do say Spell Resistance yes.
I'm still very new to these rules so I have no doubt you are correct, I'm just trying to understand where I'm going wrong with my understanding.
Hm. I stand corrected. That's what I get for posting without actually looking up what I'm talking about.
| GarrinB |
GarrinB wrote:This would make total sense, except for that when I look up Ray of Frost and Disrupt Undead in the rule book and in the PRD, they both list Saving Throw none. Although they do say Spell Resistance yes.
I'm still very new to these rules so I have no doubt you are correct, I'm just trying to understand where I'm going wrong with my understanding.
Hm. I stand corrected. That's what I get for posting without actually looking up what I'm talking about.
So are we back to this being an error on character sheet?