Multiple natural attacks and a weapon?


Rules Questions


what happens when say a creature with 2 slam attacks picks up a weapon and uses it? let's just ignore weapon proficiency and say it was it.

does he get 2 slam attacks and a weapon attack at -5?
or a weapon attack and 2 slams at -5?

what happens if the creature is a character has 3 attacks with base attack bonus and 2 natural slam attacks and uses a weapon and slams?!


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Weapon at full and descending, and then his Slams are Secondary Natural Attacks (Half str, -5 BAB)
Multiattack would fix some of that (still half str, but only -2 BAB)
so for the purposes of this, lets use a BAB progression.

I'll use 14 cause it's easy and I was just looking at 14 BAB to determine number of attacks a second ago.

no modifiers he'd go:
Full attack
Sword: 14/9/4 and Slam: 9/9

for a total of 5 attacks
unless His slam is ralated to a Limb being used for the weapon.

(I'm doing this assuming the Slam comes from a pair of tentacles or something, and he has two hands for carrying a sword)


Karjak Rustscale wrote:

Weapon at full and descending, and then his Slams are Secondary Natural Attacks (Half str, -5 BAB)

Multiattack would fix some of that (still half str, but only -2 BAB)
so for the purposes of this, lets use a BAB progression.

I'll use 14 cause it's easy and I was just looking at 14 BAB to determine number of attacks a second ago.

no modifiers he'd go:
Full attack
Sword: 14/9/4 and Slam: 9/9

for a total of 5 attacks
unless His slam is ralated to a Limb being used for the weapon.

(I'm doing this assuming the Slam comes from a pair of tentacles or something, and he has two hands for carrying a sword)

PRD-

Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack's original type.

what defines (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam)?

would a secondary natural attack be the only thing he does not have to FORGO? that would be simpler.

so in the case of say a huge earth elemental he would have to forgo one slam because it's a primary attack? i could see an earth elemental slamming with a kick,head, or body but i've never seen it actually say in the bestiary what a creature SLAMS wth exactly...


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Slam is a tricksy one because it can be used with Multiple appendages (tentacles, arms, feet, head (or heads), body, etc)
as for the Forgoing of an attack: you just don't use whatever(whichever) Limb(s) is(are) holding the weapon/weapons.

so as I said, assuming the slams are from something other than Hands, you get to use your full BAB iteratives with the weapon, plus your slam attacks, albiet with a -5 penalty (though you can take the Multiattack feat and enjoy only a -2 penalty)

So, it really depends on what limbs you're using.

IF it was Sword, Claws (feet), and a gore you'd be set with 3 natural attacks and the sword attacks because they all use different limbs (hands, feet and head respectively)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple natural attacks and a weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.