Standard Action / Attack Clarification - Bestiary


Rules Questions


Howdy,

Just a quick question. Say monster's 'melee' entry reads "2 claws +7 (1d6+2), bite +7 (1d4+2), gore +7 (1d4+2)". I understand that it can all of them in a full round action. However, if the creature is limited to a standard action and it wants to claw, is the standard attack 1 claw or 2 claws?

I'm just not sure if the '2 claws' portion is suppose to be read as 'claw +7, claw +7' indicating 2 separate attacks or '2 claws +7' as a single attack.

Thanks

like_a_god


like_a_god wrote:

Howdy,

Just a quick question. Say monster's 'melee' entry reads "2 claws +7 (1d6+2), bite +7 (1d4+2), gore +7 (1d4+2)". I understand that it can all of them in a full round action. However, if the creature is limited to a standard action and it wants to claw, is the standard attack 1 claw or 2 claws?

I'm just not sure if the '2 claws' portion is suppose to be read as 'claw +7, claw +7' indicating 2 separate attacks or '2 claws +7' as a single attack.

Thanks

like_a_god

It is two separate claw attacks, so if you only have a standard action, you will only attack with one of them.


It's indicating that the monster has two claws, so yes, in essence it is essentially "claw +7, claw +7." However, it is more practical to group multiple limbs of the same type together rather than list them all, especially since it saves space.

Using a standard action, you can only use one of its attacks, unless you make a full-round action.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yep, the previous two posters are correct.

"2 claw attacks" means the beastie makes two seperate and distinct attack rolls with their own respective damage rolls. "claws" on the other hand, would be a single attack and damage roll involving multiple claws (such as a small bird of prey or similar animal diving onto its prey with both talons simultaneously).

The former can only be used in a full attack action (otherwise you can only get a single claw attack). The latter can only be used anytime an attack is allowed.


Ah, that clear things up!

Thanks


Ya as a old 3.5 player, the Attack and Full Attack entries were on two different lines in a monsters entry, thanks for the clarification!


As one of your players please go with the claw rather than the bite you get 1.5* Str Mod on :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Standard Action / Attack Clarification - Bestiary All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions