Tower Shields and spell touch attacks


Rules Questions


I'm sure this has been addressed on this forum before, but I couldn't find it with a search. Can you use a spell that needs a touch attack to hit against someone using a tower shield for total cover?

Quote:
Shield, Tower: This massive wooden shield is nearly as tall as you are. In most situations, it provides the indicated shield bonus to your AC. As a standard action, however, you can use a tower shield to grant you total cover until the beginning of your next turn. When using a tower shield in this way, you must choose one edge of your space. That edge is treated as a solid wall for attacks targeting you only. You gain total cover for attacks that pass through this edge and no cover for attacks that do not pass through this edge (see Combat). The shield does not, however, provide cover against targeted spells; a spellcaster can cast a spell on you by targeting the shield you are holding. You cannot bash with a tower shield, nor can you use your shield hand for anything else.
Quote:
Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.

Ok, so... a tower shield provides total cover on one side of your square, AND therefore, your opponent can't make an attack against you through that side, BUT you do not have cover against targeted spells.

I guess the basic question is... what is a targeted spell? Is it a spell that has a Target entry in the list of spell parameters (i.e. "Target one living creature" in the spell suggestion or "Target up to 5 creatures" in the spell magic missile)?

...the tower shield is held by a creature, so I know a creature is there, so the magic knows where to go too.

Whereas some spells create an effect that can be used against a creature, but there is no Target entry in the list of spell parameters. The spell itself does NOT target the creature. The caster has to target the creature with an attack (i.e. "ranged touch attack" using a ray in scorching ray).

...or if I can't throw a dagger through your shield, then I can't throw a ray of fire through your shield either. Or can I cos it's magic?

Or would both types of spells work against someone using a tower shield for total cover?

Scarab Sages

A targeted spells is indeed a spell with the "Target" line (one living creature, up to 5 creatures, etc.). Note also that even if the spell has the "Target" line, if it requires an attack roll it has no effect on creatures with total cover (including total cover from a tower shield).

Inflict light wounds will not work vs. a tower shield, but enlarge person will.


Tom Baumbach wrote:

A targeted spells is indeed a spell with the "Target" line (one living creature, up to 5 creatures, etc.). Note also that even if the spell has the "Target" line, if it requires an attack roll it has no effect on creatures with total cover (including total cover from a tower shield).

Inflict light wounds will not work vs. a tower shield, but enlarge person will.

That's what I figured. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tower Shields and spell touch attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions