Ending Spell Effects Early


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Are there any rules regarding spell casters being able to end their spells before the duration expires? For example, a wizard casts Web and chooses to dismiss it early when a companion becomes caught.

How do you like to handle this in your games?

Scarab Sages

I read some where that u can dismiss spells with a duration,
But it takes a standard action to do.


Check the spell for any mention of it being dismissable. A (D) in the duration area indicates this as well.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, any spell with a duration that has a "(D)" listed can be dismissed, ending all spell effects as a standard action.

If it doesn't have that symbol, than you either have to wait it out or dispel it with dispel magic or greater dispelling (or a similar dispel effect) which is automatic when it targets your own spells.

Spells with instantaneous effects such as fireball or flesh to stone cannot be undone, even with a dispel effect.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks guys. That helped me find the relative rules in the PRD under Duration.

(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


Also, if using dispel magic on spells cast by oneself caster always succeed caster level check - important for non-dismissable spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ending Spell Effects Early All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions