Where do you center a radius on a creature?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The center of a fireball spell is at the intersection of 4 grid squares. That lines up very nicely with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book.

But what about a spell or effect that has a radius centered on a creature? Well, a Large creature has an intersection at its center, but what about a Medium or Huge creature? Do you simply pick one of the four intersections on its center square?

For example, a cleric "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric," so does the cleric choose one intersection of his or her square to center the burst? Or does it affect every creature within 30 ft (which would not line up with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book)?


reefwood wrote:

The center of a fireball spell is at the intersection of 4 grid squares. That lines up very nicely with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book.

But what about a spell or effect that has a radius centered on a creature? Well, a Large creature has an intersection at its center, but what about a Medium or Huge creature? Do you simply pick one of the four intersections on its center square?

For example, a cleric "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric," so does the cleric choose one intersection of his or her square to center the burst? Or does it affect every creature within 30 ft (which would not line up with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book)?

The cleric can choose which corner of his square to use as the center point for the emanation.


reefwood wrote:

The center of a fireball spell is at the intersection of 4 grid squares. That lines up very nicely with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book.

But what about a spell or effect that has a radius centered on a creature? Well, a Large creature has an intersection at its center, but what about a Medium or Huge creature? Do you simply pick one of the four intersections on its center square?

For example, a cleric "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric," so does the cleric choose one intersection of his or her square to center the burst? Or does it affect every creature within 30 ft (which would not line up with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book)?

Keep in mind that a fireball spell sends out a tiny bead that explodes at a point you designate OR goes off upon impact with a solid object. And I believe it travels a straight line. So if you're targeting a large creature like, say, a centaur that is facing you. Then the fireball would go off at a point in the FIRST square the creature occupies.


reefwood wrote:


But what about a spell or effect that has a radius centered on a creature? Well, a Large creature has an intersection at its center, but what about a Medium or Huge creature? Do you simply pick one of the four intersections on its center square?

The caster chooses.

If its something that moves with the caster, then let them alter it as a free action (think of it as them turning around, etc).

-James

Shadow Lodge

-Anvil- wrote:
Keep in mind that a fireball spell sends out a tiny bead that explodes at a point you designate OR goes off upon impact with a solid object. And I believe it travels a straight line. So if you're targeting a large creature like, say, a centaur that is facing you. Then the fireball would go off at a point in the FIRST square the creature occupies.

This sounds very much like a house-rule. Nowhere does the spell description state that you must hit the first square a creature occupies, in fact, the spell specifically says you chose the height and location of the impact, so shooting slightly above a creature's head, or to their right will still allow you to hit far corners and at the very worst you may have to make a touch attack; it is not automatic.

Fireball wrote:
You point your finger and determine the range (distance and height) at which the fireball is to burst. A glowing, pea-sized bead streaks from the pointing digit and, unless it impacts upon a material body or solid barrier prior to attaining the prescribed range, blossoms into the fireball at that point. An early impact results in an early detonation. If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must "hit"? the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely.

So to answer the previous poster's question, you do not chose a target, you chose a corner to which that target is adjacent and hit it; your target will just happen to be within the AoE. This especially important for smaller AoE spells such as grease.


reefwood wrote:

The center of a fireball spell is at the intersection of 4 grid squares. That lines up very nicely with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book.

But what about a spell or effect that has a radius centered on a creature? Well, a Large creature has an intersection at its center, but what about a Medium or Huge creature? Do you simply pick one of the four intersections on its center square?

For example, a cleric "Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric," so does the cleric choose one intersection of his or her square to center the burst? Or does it affect every creature within 30 ft (which would not line up with the typical spell radius example drawings in the book)?

The only questions I wanted addressed were in the middle paragraph. I didn't mean to make this specifically about fireball or channel energy. Nor was I looking to see how this works for spells targeting another creature; I just wanted to know where to center a radius on yourself. However, my opening post probably wasn't as clear as it could have been, and all this has got me thinking about these other things, but first things first...

Having a Medium creature choose one of the four intersections of its square to center the radius of channel energy makes sense since its actual center is not at an intersection. How about a Large creature? Can it choose any intersection, or does it have to choose its center intersection? And a Huge creature? Any intersection or just one of the four intersections of its center square?

Now with the above answers to channel energy, would the same answers apply to a Medium or Large or Huge creature holding a torch (in terms of where the light reaches)? Additionally, the reply by James M. says that it can be moved around to other intersections as a free action. Does that sound correct to others (and I'm guessing this is DM discretion anyway)?

Shadow Lodge

reefwood wrote:
Having a Medium creature choose one of the four intersections of its square to center the radius of channel energy makes sense since its actual center is not at an intersection. How about a Large creature? Can it choose any intersection, or does it have to choose its center intersection? And a Huge creature? Any intersection or just one of the four intersections of its center square?

This is a little dependent on the spell in question. In general, yes, you can chose the center intersection but other spell rules may prohibit this (as the example before, fireball). As with any AoE spell you can pick any intersection because you're not targeting a creature, you're targeting the area in which the creature occupies. Basically, creatures don't "fill" the space they occupy, it's a game construct that indicates the area in which they "wander" during the fight (ever look at how big a 5' square is compared to your own footprint?).

Quote:
Now with the above answers to channel energy, would the same answers apply to a Medium or Large or Huge creature holding a torch (in terms of where the light reaches)? Additionally, the reply by James M. says that it can be moved around to other intersections as a free action. Does that sound correct to others (and I'm guessing this is DM discretion anyway)?

Yes, though again you're stretching a bit outside the "normal" rules. I think as a GM in general, I would assume light originates from the center of a large creature and could extend further from reach, whatever, if the player indicated that they wished to move the torch to a different area they can reach.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Where do you center a radius on a creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions