Charge and Brace


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

correct me...

Scenario1: Fighter1 charges fighter2. Fighter1 gets a +2 to his one attack and takes a -2 on Armor class until the beginning of his next turn. Fighter1 does not provoke an attack of opportunity from fighter2.

Scenario2: Fighter2 declares he is making a ready action against fighter1, his action is to brace against a charge with a brace weapon. Fighter1 charges Fighter2. Fighter1 Charges retains all charge bonuses against fighter2. Fighter1 preforms his single charge attack. Fighter2 uses his ready action to make an attack against fighter1. Fighter2's damage is doubled against fighter 1 and attacks fighter1's reduced armor from charging.

Question: Does a readied brace action against a charging opponent stop him in his tracks and prevent him from attacking?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
TheOrangeOne wrote:
Question: Does a readied brace action against a charging opponent stop him in his tracks and prevent him from attacking?

No, barring something like a reach weapon and "stand-still" feat.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you, Slim.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Remember, only certain weapons can be braced; the ones called out in the weapons chart as having the "brace" ability.

PF Core wrote:
Brace: If you use a readied action to set a brace weapon against a charge, you deal double damage on a successful hit against a charging character (see Chapter 8).
PF Core: p198 wrote:
Weapons Readied against a Charge: Spears, tridents, and other weapons with the brace feature deal double damage when readied (set) and used against a charging character.
PF Core: p203 wrote:
Readying a Weapon against a Charge: You can ready weapons with the brace feature, setting them to receive charges. A readied weapon of this type deals double damage if you score a hit with it against a charging character.

Nothing about a braced attack cancelling the charge. The only way I can see that happening is if it's a reach weapon with the brace ability that attacks as an AoO as the charger moves through the threatened area, and the result of the attack knocks the charger prone or uses something like the stand still feat to otherwise halt the chargers movement in a position that the charger cannot attack from.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Charge and Brace All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions