Can you take an AoO and an immediate action at the same time?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Specifically, I'm looking at the Bodyguard and Saving Shield feats in the APG.

Bodyguard lets you grant a +2 bonus to an ally's AC by using an AoO.
Saving Shield lets you grant a +2 Shield bonus to an ally's AC as an immediate action.
Both are triggered when an opponent attacks an adjacent ally.

Are doing both at the same time legal?


anthony Valente wrote:

Specifically, I'm looking at the Bodyguard and Saving Shield feats in the APG.

Bodyguard lets you grant a +2 bonus to an ally's AC by using an AoO.
Saving Shield lets you grant a +2 Shield bonus to an ally's AC as an immediate action.
Both are triggered when an opponent attacks an adjacent ally.

Are doing both at the same time legal?

You can take an immediate action not on your turn (it eats up your swift action for the next round) as long as you are not flat footed.

You can take an AOO when one is provoked (it eats up your 1 AOO for the round unless you have Combat Reflexes and a higher DEX) as long as you are not flat footed.

So I don't see why not, you'd have to have the AOO provoked of course.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you take an AoO and an immediate action at the same time? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions