AOO question


Rules Questions


Suppose the following scenario:

My fighter is equiped with a reach weapon (say a halberd) and is 20 ft. away from another fighter armed with a longsword. They are talking before a fight trading banter back and forth.

The fight begins and the fighter with the longsword wins initiative. As he moves into attack does the fighter with the halberd get an AOO as the fighter with the longsword moves into 5ft range to strike?

Grand Lodge

Xiph wrote:

Suppose the following scenario:

My fighter is equiped with a reach weapon (say a halberd) and is 20 ft. away from another fighter armed with a longsword. They are talking before a fight trading banter back and forth.

The fight begins and the fighter with the longsword wins initiative. As he moves into attack does the fighter with the halberd get an AOO as the fighter with the longsword moves into 5ft range to strike?

edit: Not unless the fighter with the halberd has Combat Reflexes. He has not acted yet in the combat and is flat-footed.


Starglim wrote:
Xiph wrote:

Suppose the following scenario:

My fighter is equiped with a reach weapon (say a halberd) and is 20 ft. away from another fighter armed with a longsword. They are talking before a fight trading banter back and forth.

The fight begins and the fighter with the longsword wins initiative. As he moves into attack does the fighter with the halberd get an AOO as the fighter with the longsword moves into 5ft range to strike?

No, the fighter with the halberd has not acted yet in the combat and is flat-footed.

Of course if the Halberdier has Combat Reflexes he can still make an AoO even if he IS flat-footed.

Grand Lodge

Agreed, I was just in the act of editing for that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AOO question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions