
![]() |

I know that casting a spell from a scroll does allow for arcane spell failure, and does provoke an AoO.
Are you able to CAST DEFENSIVELY when activating a scroll?
If you are hit during the casting of scroll - or fail to cast defensively (provided it is allowed), is the scroll lost?
Where does it cover these issues in the Rule Book?
Thank you
Robert

![]() |

You can find the rules for magic item activation as it relates to attacks of opportunity in the combat section, under Spell Trigger, Command Word, or Use-Activated Items.
The specific answer to your question: You can cast from a scroll defensively.
The question of what happens when you fail to cast defensively (or what happens if you are hit during casting) is discussed under Concentration.
The specific answer to your question: The scroll is used (lost) when you fail to cast defensively. If you are hit while activating a scroll, you must succeed on a concentration check (detailed under concentration) to avoid losing the scroll.