Druid Grappling with Constrict


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Suppose I'm a Druid in a form with constrict. Every time I make a successful grapple check I damage my opponent. What if I take the greater grapple feat? It says I may choose to make 2 grapple checks if I desire, to harm the opponent as one of the options. Does this mean I can essentially deal my constrict damage 4 times in one turn?

move action --> successful grapple (constrict) choose to harm my opponent (constrict or natural attack)

Repeat.


first, make sure you have beast shape II or higher. Beast shape 1 doesn't grant it.

you may constrict twice and deal damage normally twice (which i think its a yes to your question)

The Exchange

Technically, no. Greater Grapple turns a grapple check into a move action instead of a standard action. You are entitled to two move actions per round (unless something gives you a third move action, such as the new APG bard spell heroic finale). As a result, you can make two grapple checks in a round if you don't make any other attacks or move-equivalent actions. So using only the constrict ability with Greater Grapple, you could only do your constrict damage twice per round.

However, if you're in the form of a constrictor snake, then you could do damage four times (or even six times) in a round, if your BAB is high enough, by using your Bite w/ Grab attack as a full-round action. But it wouldn't all be constrict damage, it would be a combination of constrict and bite damage.

Bite #1 --> Grab (free action) --> do constrict damage (free action)
Bite #2 --> Grab (free action) --> do constrict damage (free action)

Each bite will do its normal damage plus give you the free grapple attempt (and constrict damage). Otherwise, I don't see how you would get four constricts per round.


Your BaB has no effect on the number of bites. He would needvto be a two headed snake for that

The Exchange

Mojorat wrote:
Your BaB has no effect on the number of bites. He would needvto be a two headed snake for that

True, I forgot about that. On the other hand, if he has the multiattack feat, he could get additional bite attacks, depending on how the DM interprets that feat. In the animal companions section, it talks about animal companions getting a second attack with the primary natural weapon (at a -5 penalty) if they don't have the requisite three or more natural attacks. Whether the same should apply to creatures that aren't animal companions is up to interpretation.


Nightwish wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
Your BaB has no effect on the number of bites. He would needvto be a two headed snake for that
True, I forgot about that. On the other hand, if he has the multiattack feat, he could get additional bite attacks, depending on how the DM interprets that feat. In the animal companions section, it talks about animal companions getting a second attack with the primary natural weapon (at a -5 penalty) if they don't have the requisite three or more natural attacks. Whether the same should apply to creatures that aren't animal companions is up to interpretation.

grapple checks are grapple checks,bites are bites. they don't interact in pathfinder like they did in 3.5. A grapple check is a standard action, not something made in place of an attack. even with the feat, if he makes a move action to grapple he cannot then full attack with his natural attacks.

The Exchange

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nightwish wrote:
Mojorat wrote:
Your BaB has no effect on the number of bites. He would needvto be a two headed snake for that
True, I forgot about that. On the other hand, if he has the multiattack feat, he could get additional bite attacks, depending on how the DM interprets that feat. In the animal companions section, it talks about animal companions getting a second attack with the primary natural weapon (at a -5 penalty) if they don't have the requisite three or more natural attacks. Whether the same should apply to creatures that aren't animal companions is up to interpretation.
grapple checks are grapple checks,bites are bites. they don't interact in pathfinder like they did in 3.5. A grapple check is a standard action, not something made in place of an attack. even with the feat, if he makes a move action to grapple he cannot then full attack with his natural attacks.

I was talking about if he uses the Grab ability with his bite(s), which grants him a grapple attempt as a free action that doesn't provoke each time he hits with a bite attack. According to the Bestiary, constrictor snakes, even medium ones, get Grab along with their bite attack.


Beopere wrote:

Suppose I'm a Druid in a form with constrict. Every time I make a successful grapple check I damage my opponent. What if I take the greater grapple feat? It says I may choose to make 2 grapple checks if I desire, to harm the opponent as one of the options. Does this mean I can essentially deal my constrict damage 4 times in one turn?

move action --> successful grapple (constrict) choose to harm my opponent (constrict or natural attack)

Repeat.

I agree with BigNorseWolf -- I don't see how you get constrict four times. You get two grapple checks, so you get two possible instances of constrict damage (which goes off on a successful grapple check). If you succeed on those two checks, you could choose to do bite damage if you wanted, or you could pin or move the grapple.


I meant dealing damage 4 times. I think constrict is usually directly related to your other natural attack damage so I used them interchangeably. Either way I guess the ruling is 2 constrict damage 2 natural attack damages?


Beopere wrote:
I meant dealing damage 4 times. I think constrict is usually directly related to your other natural attack damage so I used them interchangeably. Either way I guess the ruling is 2 constrict damage 2 natural attack damages?

yes. your answer is right (2 bite damages 2 constrict damages but since 1 bite= i constrict it is functionally) 4 bite damages or 4 constrict damage. folks can be a little pedantic here.

I was talking about if he uses the Grab ability with his bite(s), which grants him a grapple attempt as a free action that doesn't provoke each time he hits with a bite attack. According to the Bestiary, constrictor snakes, even medium ones, get Grab along with their bite attack.

Bite (attack action) free constrict move action constrict nets 3 bite damages.

natural weapons don't go off of bab, they work like natural weapons.

OH... speaking of which . remember the bite (and thus the constricts) do 1.5 x strength damage.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
OH... speaking of which . remember the bite (and thus the constricts) do 1.5 x strength damage.

That's true in the case of a constrictor snake, but it's not true in the case of a shambling mound (say); the shambling mound's slam attacks add 1x Str mod to damage, but its constrict adds 1.5x Str mod to damage. And a giant squid's tentacle attack adds 0.5x Str mod to damage, but its constrict adds 1.5x Str mod to damage. And a giant octopus's tentacles add 0.5x Str mod to damage, and its constrict adds 0.5x Str mod to damage.

It's not consistent from creature to creature; you have to read the monster description to know for sure.


hogarth wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
OH... speaking of which . remember the bite (and thus the constricts) do 1.5 x strength damage.

That's true in the case of a constrictor snake, but it's not true in the case of a shambling mound (say); the shambling mound's slam attacks add 1x Str mod to damage, but its constrict adds 1.5x Str mod to damage. And a giant squid's tentacle attack adds 0.5x Str mod to damage, but its constrict adds 1.5x Str mod to damage. And a giant octopus's tentacles add 0.5x Str mod to damage, and its constrict adds 0.5x Str mod to damage.

It's not consistent from creature to creature; you have to read the monster description to know for sure.

right, but i was just pointing it out for lord voldemort there, who's apparently never read the evil overlord list :)

http://www.eviloverlord.com/lists/overlord.html

34: I will not turn into a snake. It never helps.

Shadow Lodge

I was just thinking about grappling eidolons the other day and not this exact thing but a similar idea.

The way I see it if you have grab you can do a full round attack and assuming your claws/ bite hits you can use grab then rake/ constrict.

At the beginning of your next turn you can release the grapple as a free action and do the same thing. Your enemy is limited to a single attack with a light weapon or spending a round trying to break or reverse the grapple.

So not tons of constrict damage but you could certainly get a full attack and constrict damage in while limiting the enemy to single actions.

Edit: And the big limit of grab is it's usually limited to creatures smaller than you.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Beopere wrote:
I meant dealing damage 4 times. I think constrict is usually directly related to your other natural attack damage so I used them interchangeably. Either way I guess the ruling is 2 constrict damage 2 natural attack damages?

yes. your answer is right (2 bite damages 2 constrict damages but since 1 bite= i constrict it is functionally) 4 bite damages or 4 constrict damage. folks can be a little pedantic here.

I was talking about if he uses the Grab ability with his bite(s), which grants him a grapple attempt as a free action that doesn't provoke each time he hits with a bite attack. According to the Bestiary, constrictor snakes, even medium ones, get Grab along with their bite attack.

Bite (attack action) free constrict move action constrict nets 3 bite damages.

natural weapons don't go off of bab, they work like natural weapons.

OH... speaking of which . remember the bite (and thus the constricts) do 1.5 x strength damage.

but a druid dosnt till WS 3, which is 8th level for normal and 6th for snake shaman

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Druid Grappling with Constrict All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions