Frightened Condition via Demoralize (Intimidate): Legal?


Rules Questions


So, a player in a game I'm running keeps spending his turns using Demoralize on opponents. As he reads it, the first round he Shakens the opponent, and targets him again the second round to advance the Shaken condition to Frightened. I hate it, as it's as anticlimatic as it gets. Is this a legal thing to do, by RAW? Or, as I think it should be, a PC can only impose the Shaken condition and not improve it no matter how many times he targets the enemy?

Thanks!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

This topic has come up numerous times on the boards. There have been dev posts saying it should not stack. A link to one is here:

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/community/offTopic/askJamesJacobsAllYo urQuestionsHere&page=67&source=search#3342

As stated in the post however its not an official errata. And Paizo is painfully slow on issuing errata and FAQs so I would not count on seeing one in the near future.


Maezer wrote:
As stated in the post however its not an official errata. And Paizo is painfully slow on issuing errata and FAQs so I would not count on seeing one in the near future.

Thanks for the quick response. Even if it's not an official errata, Word of Godis enough to validate my case against the players.

^_^

Grand Lodge

It is /almost/ part of the prd. If you search the prd for stacking demoralize you can see the errata that limits demoralize:

http://paizo.com/search?q=stacking+demoralize&x.x=34&x.y=7&what =prd

prd wrote:
This shaken condition does not stack with other shaken conditions to make an affected creature frightened.

But for whatever reason, when you click on the actual entry of Intimidate (demoralize) the errata does not appear.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Frightened Condition via Demoralize (Intimidate): Legal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.