Discoveries and bombs: what stacks?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Discoveries and Bombs

I just have a quick question.

My alchemist has been playing with….you guessed it bombs.

Now he has made two discoveries: Explosive bomb and Precise Bomb.

P28 APG “ discoveries that modify bombs that are marked with an asterisk (*) do not stack. Only one such discovery can be applied to an individual bomb”

From how I read the rules, an Explosive bomb, and a frost bomb, wont stack because they both have asterisk. However, an Explosive bomb and a precise bomb will. Explosive bomb has an asterisk while precise bomb does not.

Is my reading of this rule correct or incorrect?

Thanks. An apology if this has been answered elsewhere.

Oh while I’m here, If my Alchemist’s bombs do 2d6+3 pts of damage, Will the Explosive discovery, modify the bomb so it does an extra d6 of damage, so the bomb does 3d6+3 points of damage on a direct hit?

Will there be d6 of fire damage each round until the enemy puts it out?

What if I hit it the next round with a second explosive bomb?

Will there be 1d6 fire from the previous bomb, and another 3d6 damage from the 2nd round bomb?

In the third round with there be 2d6 ongoing damage from both bombs?

Thanks sorry for so many questions.


1 - yes, explosive and precise stack; you now have accurate explosive bombs

2 - Explosive bomb will give your direct hit a +1d6 fire damage, but successive hits will not increase the fire damage per round - that's just from being on fire.

Silver Crusade

Necromancer,
Thank you for clearing up my confusion for me.


Quote:
Will there be d6 of fire damage each round until the enemy puts it out?

The opponent catches fire (with special rules from the bomb) It doesn't say when this damage occurs but the regular catching on fire happens on the victims turn, so thats how we've ruled it. It also makes it easier to keep track of because its continual damage throughout the round, which means spellcasters need to make concentration checks to cast spells.

Quote:
What if I hit it the next round with a second explosive bomb?

You can't stack the same condition twice, and they're already on fire. So you do your normal bomb damage. They are still as "on fire" as they were before, no more no less.

Quote:
Thanks sorry for so many questions.

We've all been there on something.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Discoveries and bombs: what stacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions