
![]() |

I have a PC with a shield bash build in my campaign, but this question applies to any creature using multiple weapons.
Suppose a fighter with two-weapon rend has a longsword in his primary hand and a shortsword in his off-hand. The longsword is cold iron and the shortsword is +3 (effective against DR/silver). (Feat text is here.)
When the PC hits with both attacks they get to roll 1d10+1.5*StrB as "rend damage". What is the type of this damage? If a creature has DR/silver, is the rend entirely silver? Only 50% silver? Or some percentage based on the amount of damage done (longsword does 10 pts, shortsword does 5 pts, so the rend is 66% cold iron and 33% silver)?
I know that last one sounds like a ridiculous way to figure it, but we play online using MapTool so a macro to calculate the results wouldn't be tough at all. :)
I was generous and allowed the rend to be both silver and cold iron in tonight's game but I warned the player that it would likely change after I got some replies here on the message board. ;-)

![]() |

I agree with your ruling. The fighter uses his advanced training to pin the creature with one weapon and rend with the other in the most brutal way he can (he has already seen which weapon is most effective, because he hit with both of them), so it should count as the best type of damage available from either weapon.

Kaiyanwang |

I'd go with this interpretation: if both weapon pierce with the triggering attacks (so, both weapons deal at least 1 point of damage) then the rend damage is applied, with no DR, because the skin of the enemy has been already bypassed.
Some would not like this, but is 1) fast 2) rewarding for a feat-heavy build.

![]() |

I would consider the DR bypassing properties - silver cold iron, etc. - only for the variable value (1d10) but not for the 1.5*Str bonus.
I'd also add to the feat requisites the "at least one weapon must be slashing or piercing" line (I really can't figure out a rend attack with only blunt weapons), but that's just me.

![]() |

YuenglingDragon wrote:Wasn't there a ruling from Jason or James that the Rend damage would apply to one of the attacks for the purposes of DR? So basically if the hit already took DR into account, the Rend was just extra damage.Yes. Yes there was.
I don't know whether the search function needs to be better or just better used...

BigNorseWolf |

Thanks everyone. The fighter will be happy with this ruling!
Regarding the 2WR requiring non-bludgeoning weapons... I suppose that makes sense. The way it's written allows two saps to be used to achieve Rend damage and that's just *wrong*. ;-)
Its even more wrong once your thought shields go down and you figure out how its possible...