Wolves and the free Trip attempt


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

The entry for a Wolf includes an attempt to Trip as a free action. Does this require another attack roll vs. CMD or is it resolved using the attack roll from the bite attack?


They would be two seperate rolls.


Richard the Lame wrote:
They would be two seperate rolls.

Agreed, seperate roll. the second roll using the wolf's CMB modifier, not its melee attack modifier.

Liberty's Edge

I figured as much, but it has never come up before. Thanks!


Arnim Thayer wrote:
I figured as much, but it has never come up before. Thanks!

...don't let people talk you into 'the trip attempt allows me an AoO against the wolf!' or 'if it missed by 10 or more it goes prone instead!'.

:)


Shifty wrote:
Arnim Thayer wrote:
I figured as much, but it has never come up before. Thanks!

...don't let people talk you into 'the trip attempt allows me an AoO against the wolf!' or 'if it missed by 10 or more it goes prone instead!'.

:)

What he said.

Quote:

Trip (Ex)

A creature with the trip special attack can attempt to trip its opponent as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity if it hits with the specified attack. If the attempt fails, the creature is not tripped in return.

Format: trip (bite); Location: individual attacks.

Silver Crusade

+1 to the above advice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wolves and the free Trip attempt All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions