Sleep spell question


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Hello all,

A couple of questions about Sleep.

1. The spell has a 1 round casting time. If I start casting the spell in round 1, then it takes effect at the beginning of my turn in round 2. Am I correct?

2. Is the spell targeted in round 1 when I start casting or in round 2 when it actually goes off.

Thanks.


MoFiddy wrote:

Hello all,

A couple of questions about Sleep.

1. The spell has a 1 round casting time. If I start casting the spell in round 1, then it takes effect at the beginning of my turn in round 2. Am I correct?

2. Is the spell targeted in round 1 when I start casting or in round 2 when it actually goes off.

Thanks.

1) Correct, your full round action will occur just before your action the next/following round. This is sometimes a bad thing as it gives EVERYONE the ability to try and interrupt you (forcing checks via damage and such).

2) After the spell is cast.

Pathfinder RPG pg 213 wrote:
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.

Dark Archive

Skylancer4 wrote:
MoFiddy wrote:

Hello all,

A couple of questions about Sleep.

1. The spell has a 1 round casting time. If I start casting the spell in round 1, then it takes effect at the beginning of my turn in round 2. Am I correct?

2. Is the spell targeted in round 1 when I start casting or in round 2 when it actually goes off.

Thanks.

1) Correct, your full round action will occur just before your action the next/following round. This is sometimes a bad thing as it gives EVERYONE the ability to try and interrupt you (forcing checks via damage and such).

2) After the spell is cast.

Pathfinder RPG pg 213 wrote:
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.

Thanks Skylancer4. Appreciate the reference too.


IIRC, you are not forced to take a full-round action to cast Sleep. But in that case, you lose your move action in the following round.


Noir le Lotus wrote:
IIRC, you are not forced to take a full-round action to cast Sleep. But in that case, you lose your move action in the following round.

You might be thinking of another spell/ability. Sleep spell is definitely listed as casting time: 1 round (PFRPG p. 334) and casting time detailed at:

PFRPG pg 213 wrote:


Casting Time
.....
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.
.....

Liberty's Edge

Noir le Lotus wrote:
IIRC, you are not forced to take a full-round action to cast Sleep. But in that case, you lose your move action in the following round.

I believe Noir is thinking of the option to start a full round action as a standard action, which is then finished in the following round.

However, if doing so, the action to finish the spell is itself also a standard action, not a move action.

Example: Round 1, Wizbo moves to be within range (move action), and then starts to cast sleep (std action to begin). Round 2, Wizbo finishes casting sleep (std action to finish), decides where to target, orcs make saving throws, Wizbo moves back out of range (move action).


Howie23 wrote:
Noir le Lotus wrote:
IIRC, you are not forced to take a full-round action to cast Sleep. But in that case, you lose your move action in the following round.

I believe Noir is thinking of the option to start a full round action as a standard action, which is then finished in the following round.

However, if doing so, the action to finish the spell is itself also a standard action, not a move action.

Example: Round 1, Wizbo moves to be within range (move action), and then starts to cast sleep (std action to begin). Round 2, Wizbo finishes casting sleep (std action to finish), decides where to target, orcs make saving throws, Wizbo moves back out of range (move action).

Gotcha.

@OP: If you want to use the ability that way and need the rule listing.

PFRPG pg. 186 wrote:


Start/Complete Full-Round Action
The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can’t use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.

Dark Archive

Skylancer4 wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
Noir le Lotus wrote:
IIRC, you are not forced to take a full-round action to cast Sleep. But in that case, you lose your move action in the following round.

I believe Noir is thinking of the option to start a full round action as a standard action, which is then finished in the following round.

However, if doing so, the action to finish the spell is itself also a standard action, not a move action.

Example: Round 1, Wizbo moves to be within range (move action), and then starts to cast sleep (std action to begin). Round 2, Wizbo finishes casting sleep (std action to finish), decides where to target, orcs make saving throws, Wizbo moves back out of range (move action).

Gotcha.

@OP: If you want to use the ability that way and need the rule listing.

PFRPG pg. 186 wrote:


Start/Complete Full-Round Action
The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can’t use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.

Ok. I was not aware of that. Thank you for the reference.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sleep spell question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions