Protection from Evil / Summoned Creatures


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

If a PC with protection from evil attacks one summoned creature can all summoned creatures now attack him or just the one he attacked?

Silver Crusade

PRD wrote:
Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by evil summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Summoned creatures that are not evil are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.

By my reading, the spell is only broken against the one summoned evil creature you attacked, but remains in place against others. Otherwise, the spell would read "The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against a blocked creature."

Still, it's pretty vague. Seems like a GM's call, really.


uriel222 wrote:
PRD wrote:
Third, the spell prevents bodily contact by evil summoned creatures. This causes the natural weapon attacks of such creatures to fail and the creatures to recoil if such attacks require touching the warded creature. Summoned creatures that are not evil are immune to this effect. The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against the blocked creature. Spell resistance can allow a creature to overcome this protection and touch the warded creature.

By my reading, the spell is only broken against the one summoned evil creature you attacked, but remains in place against others. Otherwise, the spell would read "The protection against contact by summoned creatures ends if the warded creature makes an attack against or tries to force the barrier against a blocked creature."

Still, it's pretty vague. Seems like a GM's call, really.

The problem as I read it is the first half of the sentence says "the protection against contact by summoned creatures ends" and then it says "the blocked creature." It seems to say it ends against all creatures in the first half and against the creature in the second.

Silver Crusade

I read it as ending the spell's block against all summoned evil creatures if you attack a blocked creature. You have a barrier that moves with you, but this barrier busts if you force it. It would probably be better worded with "a blocked creature" instead of "the blocked creature," but still, it means all protection ends even if you only attack one ("the") blocked creature. I assume they changed articles to differentiate blocked summoned evil creatures from those summoned creatures unaffected by the spell.


What exactly counts as a summoned creature? Like, would a skeleton or a mummy count?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Protection from Evil / Summoned Creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.