Casting using rods of metamagic?


Rules Questions


I'm not familiar with using rods for spells/metamagic enhancements.

Is there a section in the PRD that goes over this or can someone explain?

Thanks!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Hi Madak, here ya go. link


Jam412 wrote:
Hi Madak, here ya go. link

Awesome, thanks!

Also, I assume that you cannot cast a spell using the hand that is holding a rod? I remember some artwork of an Eldritch Knight wielding a longsword and a rod, but that would be kind of pointless for a metamagic rod wouldn't it?

Liberty's Edge

Madak wrote:
Also, I assume that you cannot cast a spell using the hand that is holding a rod? I remember some artwork of an Eldritch Knight wielding a longsword and a rod, but that would be kind of pointless for a metamagic rod wouldn't it?

A rod does not explicitly have to be held to be used. For some GMs, it is sufficient for it to be merely in posession.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Howie23 wrote:
Madak wrote:
Also, I assume that you cannot cast a spell using the hand that is holding a rod? I remember some artwork of an Eldritch Knight wielding a longsword and a rod, but that would be kind of pointless for a metamagic rod wouldn't it?
A rod does not explicitly have to be held to be used. For some GMs, it is sufficient for it to be merely in posession.

Rod Activation: Details relating to rod use vary from item to item. Unless noted otherwise, you must be holding a rod to use its abilities. See the individual descriptions for specifics.

Liberty's Edge

Ravingdork wrote:
QUOTE]Rod Activation: Details relating to rod use vary from item to item. Unless noted otherwise, you must be holding a rod to use its abilities. See the individual descriptions for specifics.

Ah. Cool...another minor update from 3.5.

Thanks RD.

Liberty's Edge

BTW, this sounds like yet another reason why wizards should not arcane bond with an item that has to be held.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting using rods of metamagic? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions