Timely Inspiration - 1st level spell useless at first level? (APG)


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I'm reading the info for Timely Inspiration, and I'm loving what it does. However, on a close read part of it jumps out at me. As written, it doesn't seem like Timely Inspiration does anything at all at first level- or the first four levels, for that matter.

Quote:
A word of arcane-empowered inspiration can snatch victory from seeming defeat. Cast this spell when a creature fails an attack roll or skill check. The target gains a +1 competence bonus per five caster levels (maximum +3 bonus) on the attack roll or skill check retroactively. If the bonus is enough to make the failure a success, the roll succeeds.

There's no initial bonus given, so this spell doesn't seem to do anything until you have at least 5 caster levels... which is odd to say the least for a level 1 spell.


A lot of spells have a "minimum of +1" clause...I think they just forgot it here. At least, I see no problem in assuming that's the case.


Either that or it is supposed to be a +1 bonus,and +1 for every additional 5 caster levels (+2 at 5. and +3 at 10). That would probably make most sense, and be in keeping with how things are often done.


There are also some spells that buff only the caster like Bomber’s Eye and have a duration 1 round per level. So if you are level one and you cast it, it is useless since it would buff your standard action to throw which is already spent to cast the spell :-)

Is this also a mistake in your opinion?

Grand Lodge

Generally spells like this work out as +1 at levels 1-5, +2 at 6-10, and so on.

Shadow Lodge

Aris Kosmopoulos wrote:

There are also some spells that buff only the caster like Bomber’s Eye and have a duration 1 round per level. So if you are level one and you cast it, it is useless since it would buff your standard action to throw which is already spent to cast the spell :-)

Is this also a mistake in your opinion?

In the case of one round per level spells, the spell can be used for your next action.

You spend an action casting the spell. At the end of your action your bonus is now available. So it only makes sense that the spell's duration lasts until the end of your next action (meaning you have exactly one action to use the spell). Look at it mathematically. Let's say your initiative is 10 and you cast a spell, and the end of your round 10.9, your spell goes off. If the duration of the spell doesn't last through 10.9 of the next round (i.e. after you've used all your next action), then the full duration didn't occur.


MisterSlanky wrote:
Aris Kosmopoulos wrote:

There are also some spells that buff only the caster like Bomber’s Eye and have a duration 1 round per level. So if you are level one and you cast it, it is useless since it would buff your standard action to throw which is already spent to cast the spell :-)

Is this also a mistake in your opinion?

In the case of one round per level spells, the spell can be used for your next action.

You spend an action casting the spell. At the end of your action your bonus is now available. So it only makes sense that the spell's duration lasts until the end of your next action (meaning you have exactly one action to use the spell). Look at it mathematically. Let's say your initiative is 10 and you cast a spell, and the end of your round 10.9, your spell goes off. If the duration of the spell doesn't last through 10.9 of the next round (i.e. after you've used all your next action), then the full duration didn't occur.

I understand what are you saying but for some reason I had the impression that in dnd rules for simplicity durations end at the beginning of your round. I do not know why and probably it is a wrong impression :-(

Thanks, if what are you saying is true then it solves some similar problems.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Timely Inspiration - 1st level spell useless at first level? (APG) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.