Off-hand damage when dual wielding


Rules Questions


A question has come up in our weekend games of Pathfinder that I'm hoping someone can offer some clarification on.

While dual wielding and your strength modifier is a modest +1, what damage modifier do you add to the off-hand attack?

The rules state you halve the strength bonus to off-hand attacks and does not list a minimum modifier. Half of +1 is one-half obviously so what is the final outcome? Do you round up or down in this case?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you.

Liberty's Edge

Grummik wrote:

A question has come up in our weekend games of Pathfinder that I'm hoping someone can offer some clarification on.

While dual wielding and your strength modifier is a modest +1, what damage modifier do you add to the off-hand attack?

The rules state you halve the strength bonus to off-hand attacks and does not list a minimum modifier. Half of +1 is one-half obviously so what is the final outcome? Do you round up or down in this case?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you.

The general rule within the game is to round down. PF makes many "round down, minimum of 1" exceptions. This isn't one of them.


You round down to zero.

I think the only exception to this is that negative modifiers to damage such as a strength of 8 don't get halved on the off-hand attack but I can't remember a page reference for that.


Thanks for the input, that's the same conclusion we came up with as well. Just wanted to see what others were doing with this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Off-hand damage when dual wielding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions