Come and get Tripped?


Rules Questions


I was merely wondering, since trip substitutes a melee attack, is it also subject to come and get me?

As in, if a Barbarian gets Greater Trip(yep, a long way), is it viable to have someone attack, him, which, by description of the rage power, provokes from him...then have the barbarian trip him(which provokes another attack of opportunity), meaning the person gets -4 on melee attacks and a -4 AC bonus(meaning next turn the barbarian can "hack them up good").(Basically that would mean the +4 attack/damage turn into +4 damage for -4 AC).

Even though it would seem so flavorwise..., rules-wise, would this cancel the bonus provided by a charge?(as in, someone charges the barbarian, and gets tripped up and smashed in the face...is he considered to have hit the barbarian, too, during the charge action, maintaining the boni?)
And if that bonus is not cancelled, what if the Barbarian kills his target, is the attack that triggered it still resolved?

What if instead of a greater trip the barbarian used knockback during his AoO? Moving him away 5 feet, meaning out of melee reach, but close enough to step up next turn and cut them up?

Would those scenarios work properly?(i.e. is a Barbarian Controller a valid build?)
This Barbarian will be in a mostly humanoid-based campaign, so even in higher levels, he'll not run dry of tripable opponents, so i wondered about the validity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Come and get Tripped? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions