Armor class modifiers


Rules Questions


At page 196 of the core rule book there is a table about AC modifiers. There it says that if you are being attacked and you are grappling but the attacker is not you loose your Dex bonus to AC. I am pretty sure that this is wrong because of all the discussions that we have done about grappled and pinned.

Example showing why this is an error:

For example if the above statement was true then there would be no reason to say at the pin action that you lose your Dexterity bonus to AC since you would had already lost it:

"Pin: You can give your opponent the pinned condition
(see Appendix 2). Despite pinning your opponent, you
still only have the grappled condition, but you lose your
Dexterity bonus to AC."

Is this an error? Have you discussed it before and if yes can you please inform me about how it was fixed. Do you ignore it or it wanted to say something else?

P.S. To those that would argue that in the above example you loose your Dex to AC against everyone instead of only against the ones attacking you (and not grappling you), remember that there is no point at that. The newly affected person would only be the pinned one which doesn't care if you are flat-footed while he is pinned.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Love your grappling, don't you? ;P

The table is incorrect.

Use the rule of text over table to eliminate inconsistencies.


The glossary entry for grapple:

Glossary wrote:


"Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

A grappled creature cannot use Stealth to hide from the creature grappling it, even if a special ability, such as hide in plain sight, would normally allow it to do so. If a grappled creature becomes invisible, through a spell or other ability, it gains a +2 circumstance bonus on its CMD to avoid being grappled, but receives no other benefit."

Since the rules for grappling refer to the grappled condition and never mention anything about losing the Dex bonus, I'd say the table 8-6 on page page 195 is in error. Probably a hold-over from 3.5 rules that hasn't been spotted and put into errata yet (Even the third printing has that rule)


Tanis wrote:

Love your grappling, don't you? ;P

The table is incorrect.

Use the rule of text over table to eliminate inconsistencies.

Actually we have a monk grappler in the party and I am the one that has to interpret the rules in the party so every Monday after the session I am bombarding you with the things that I am not sure about :-P. Sorry :-) Thanks both of you for your answers.


No worries. Grappling with the rules is half the fun, pun intended.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Armor class modifiers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions