Restoration, Temporary Negative Levels & Ability Drain


Rules Questions


Last night my party ran afoul of some dread wraiths (running Rise of the Runelords part 5) and the cleric had the unpleasant honor of being hit for negative level damage and Con drain. After the battle she cast Restoration and we ran into some confusion. The description of the spell indicates that it dispells all negative level damage. It also states that it will remove all ability drain for 1 ability. For sake of play I ruled that the spell removed both the negative level damage and the Con drain, but wasn't entirely certain that was the case.

Unlike the Lesser Restoration description, there is not "and/or" indicating whether "Restoration dispells negative level damage and ability drain" or Restoration dispells negative level damage or ability drain".

I suppose the confusion lies in that the description places the two items in different paragraphs.

Any thoughts?


1) Use spoilers dude, not everyone wants to know what monsters are in what module.

2) Dread Wraiths don't drain levels, they drain Con. Unless it's different in the module, the Bestiary entry says(Bestiary p.284): This causes the wraith to increase in size and strength, and to inflict 2d6 points of negative energy damage and 1d8 Constitution drain with its incorporeal touch.

3) Restoration has two uses.

(a) If you use 100gp worth of diamond dust as a material component, Restoration cures all temporary ability damage, and it restores all points permanently drained from a single ability score (your choice if more than one is drained).

(b) If you use 1000gp worth of diamond dust as a material component, you gain the healing above plus you can also dispel a permanent negative level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Restoration, Temporary Negative Levels & Ability Drain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.