Using Acrobatics to move through an enemy space


Rules Questions

The Exchange

In the 3.5 version of the Tumble skill, if you failed your Tumble check while trying to tumble through an occupied enemy space, you not only provoke AoO, but your movement stops in the space in front of whomever you were trying to tumble past. In the Pathfinder version of Acrobatics, it states that if you fail the Acrobatics check while attempting to move through an enemy space, it provokes and if damage is taken, a new Acrobatics check has to be made to avoid falling or being knocked prone. However, it doesn't say that the movement necessarily stops, especially if the second check is successful. So should that be interpreted to mean that an attempt to tumble/dive/slide through an enemy space could still succeed even on a failed Acrobatics check if A) the opponent misses with his/her AoO, or B) the character takes damage but succeeds on the second Acrobatics check? Or should it instead be assumed that the "stops movement" clause from 3.5 is grandfathered in?

Edit to add: I'm referring to moving through a space occupied by an opponent, not merely moving through their threatened area.

Liberty's Edge

Well, I intend to continue the ruling from 3.5. It's hard enough as it is for someone to stop an enemy from getting by them.

Sovereign Court

Nightwish wrote:

In the Pathfinder version of Acrobatics, it states that if you fail the Acrobatics check while attempting to move through an enemy space, it provokes and if damage is taken, a new Acrobatics check has to be made to avoid falling or being knocked prone...

...Edit to add: I'm referring to moving through a space occupied by an opponent, not merely moving through their threatened area.

Where are you finding this? That's not what the Acrobatics skill description says at all?

The correct answer can be found HERE

--School of Vrock

The Exchange

King of Vrock wrote:
Nightwish wrote:

In the Pathfinder version of Acrobatics, it states that if you fail the Acrobatics check while attempting to move through an enemy space, it provokes and if damage is taken, a new Acrobatics check has to be made to avoid falling or being knocked prone...

...Edit to add: I'm referring to moving through a space occupied by an opponent, not merely moving through their threatened area.

Where are you finding this? That's not what the Acrobatics skill description says at all?

It's kind of piecemeal, but it is in there.

On page 88, it provides DCs for moving through an enemy's threatened area (DC = CMD), and for moving through an enemy's space (DC = CMD+5). On page 87, it states, "If you take damage while using Acrobatics, you must immediately make another Acrobatics check at the same DC to avoid falling or being knocked prone." That statement is included in the section about using acrobatics to walk on narrow ledges and uneven ground, but is worded in such a way as to suggest it is meant to apply to any use of Acrobatics.

Sovereign Court

No that's only for the Balance portion of Acrobatics. Three different subskills are covered. Not every modifier covers all the subsets.

The Exchange

King of Vrock wrote:
No that's only for the Balance portion of Acrobatics. Three different subskills are covered. Not every modifier covers all the subsets.

That's what I thought at first, regarding that particular statement, but in every other instance where they were speaking of a specific and limited use of Acrobatics, they included the caveat "using Acrobatics in this way," but in that instance they didn't. I wasn't sure if they left that caveat out as an oversight, or if it was meant to apply to other uses of the skill and was just poorly placed in the description.

Sovereign Court

Yeah unfortunately some of the wording got worse from 3.5 to PF... smooshing skills together's done this. Hopefully things will get fixed in subsequent printings or erratas...

--Vrocknrolla

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using Acrobatics to move through an enemy space All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.